Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 7 of 3909 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

What happened to my sister / Elizabeth Flock.

Flock, Elizabeth. (Author).
Image of item

Available copies

  • 0 of 1 copy available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 0 of 1 copy available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Bagley Public Library FLO (Text) 33500010835718 Main Checked out 08/31/2019

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780345524430
  • ISBN: 0345524438
  • ISBN: 9780345524447 (ebook)
  • ISBN: 0345524446 (ebook)
  • Physical Description: 289 p. ; 21 cm.
  • Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books Trade Paperbacks, c2012.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: Nine-year-old Carrie Parker and her mother, Libby, are making a fresh start in the small town of Hartsville, North Carolina, ready to put their turbulent past behind them. Violence has shattered their family and left Libby nearly unable to cope. And while Carrie once took comfort in her beloved sister, Emma, her mother has now forbidden even the mention of her name.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2012 June #1
    Flock picks up where Me & Emma (2005) leaves off. Nine-year-old Carrie and her down-on-her-luck mother are leaving Toast, North Carolina, to try to put the past as far behind them as possible. But luck and their broken-down car only get them as far as Huntsville. They take up residence on the outskirts of town, and it becomes obvious that little has changed. Carrie's mother is still negligent and abusive; they run out of money, and Carrie is forced to fend for herself. On a food hunt at Wendy's, Carrie is befriended by a family who, coincidentally, have lost a daughter with the same name who looks like Carrie. As the novel unfolds, Carrie's mother begins to unravel, as do the stories about their lives. We do find out what happened to Carrie's little sister, Emma, developments delivered with a heaping spoonful of saccharine. Carrie is an interesting narrator, speaking like no other nine-year-old, while never seeming the worse for wear despite the horrors she experiences. Readers who loved Me & Emma will pounce on the sequel. Copyright 2012 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Flock is a former journalist who reported for Time and People magazines and worked as an on-air correspondent for CBS. She is the author of several acclaimed novels, including But Inside I’m Screaming and Me & Emma. She lives in New York City.

Subject: Sisters > Fiction.
Genre: Domestic fiction.
Search Results Showing Item 7 of 3909 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Additional Resources