Catalog

The catalog was upgraded on Sunday October 20th, 2019. Please report problems to your library.

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Moorhead Public Library M DEN (Text) 33500011878550 Main Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781250036865 (e-book)
  • ISBN: 1250007798 (hardcover)
  • ISBN: 9781250007797 (hardcover)
  • Physical Description: viii, 291 pages ; 22 cm.
    print
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York, N.Y. : A Thomas Dunne Book for Minotaur Books, 2014.

Content descriptions

General Note: Series statement from book jacket.
Summary, etc.: "Former TV celebrity host Kat Stanford is just days away from starting her dream antique business with her newly widowed mother Iris when she gets a huge shock. Iris has recklessly purchased a dilapidated carriage house, on an isolated country estate, Honeychurch Hall, several hundred miles from London. When Kat arrives at the house, she discovers that Iris has yet another surprise in store. Iris has been writing in secret for years and reluctantly reveals that she's actually Krystalle Storm, the famous bestselling author of steamy bodice-rippers. The gentry upstairs and those below stairs at Honeychurch Hall regard the newcomers with suspicion and distrust. When the nanny goes missing, the loyal housekeeper ends up dead, and Iris is accused of the murder, Kat realizes she hardly knows her mother at all and wonders if she is--indeed--guilty. Although the six hundred year old estate has endured wars, corruption and Royal favors, it's the scandals, secrets and lies of the last few decades that must remain buried at all costs. This is a delightful and traditional cozy mystery that will appeal to fans of Louise Penny and G.M. Malliet"--Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2014 May #2
    Kat Stanford has just announced her departure from hosting a TV show on antiques and heads out of London for some R & R. She drives to Devonshire, where her newly widowed mother has just purchased the carriage house on the Honeychurch Hall estate. Even before Kat reaches her mother's new home, her visit turns stressful as she gets lost, is caught up in a scene with an irate nanny, and has a run-in with the caretaker. To top it off, the carriage house is in total disrepair. It gets worse when it becomes known that Kat was the last person to see the nanny, and the housekeeper at the manor is murdered. Kat and her mother are thus thrust into an elaborate plot built on a deception begun years before. As it unravels, Kat works with the local police detective, using her knowledge of antiques, particularly antique toys, to pull the threads of the crimes, past and present, together. With believable characters, a modern take on manor-house life, a juicy subplot involving Kat's mother, and a possible love interest, this is a good start to a new series. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

HANNAH DENNISON began her writing career in 1977 as a trainee reporter for a small West Country newspaper in Devon, England. Hannah is a member of Sisters in Crime, Mystery Writers of America, the Willamette Writers, British Crime Writers' Association and Toastmasters International. Hannah is the author of the Vicky Hill mysteries, published by Berkley Prime Crime; Murder at Honeychurch Hall is her first time being published in hardcover.

Subject: Mothers and daughters Fiction
Murder Investigation Fiction
Manors England Fiction
Women authors Fiction
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Genre: Mystery fiction.
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Additional Resources