Catalog

Curbside Pick-Up is available in all locations and book drops are open.

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Moorhead Public Library BAI (Text) 33500012214318 Main Available -
Greenbush Public Library BAI (Text) 35500005735756 Main Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781466860728 (ebook)
  • ISBN: 1250056926 (hardcover)
  • ISBN: 9781250056924 (hardcover)
  • Physical Description: pages ; cm
    print
  • Edition: First U.S. edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin's Press, 2016.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "Manchester 1809. When budding young criminal Mary Jebb swindles Michael Croxton's brother with a blank pound note, he chases her into the night and sets in motion a train of sinister events. Condemned to seven years of transportation to Australia, Mary sends him a 'Penny Heart'-a token of her vow of revenge. Two years later, Michael marries naive young Grace Moore. Although initially overjoyed at the union, Grace quickly realizes that her husband is more interested in her fortune than her company. Lonely and desperate for companionship, she turns to her new cook to help mend her ailing marriage. But Mary Jebb, shipwrecked, tortured, and recently hired, has different plans for the unsuspecting owners of Delafosse Hall. A Taste for Nightshade is a thrilling historical novel that combines recipes, mystery and a dark struggle between two desperate women, sure to appeal to fans of Sarah Waters and Carolly Erickson"--
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2016 January #1
    In 1787, after Michael Croxon bears witness in court against Mary Jebb for theft, Mary is transported to Botany Bay to serve a seven-year sentence, vowing that she will have revenge. Several years later, to escape from her alcoholic father's household, Grace Moore marries Croxon. The couple rents a moldering estate, and Grace soon learns that Michael only married her for her inheritance. Hoping to salvage her marriage, Grace agrees to use some of her money to help him build a mill. Grace hires a cook, now known as Peg but who is actually Mary, who escaped from prison and returned to England. Grace befriends Peg as her husband continues to ignore her. Michael finally begins to show some interest in Grace, and unexplained things begin happening at the estate. Then tragedy strikes, and a horrified Grace doesn't know where to turn. This novel of psychological suspense, told from both Grace and Mary's points of view, contains numerous plot twists, flashbacks, historical details, and a sympathetic main character, framed with an eerie, foreboding setting. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

MARTINE BAILEY is the author of An Appetite for Violets. As an amateur cook, she won the Merchant Gourmet Recipe Challenge and was a former UK Dessert Champion, cooking at Le Meurice in Paris. Her recipes have appeared in many publications including Good Housekeeping, Olive Magazine and Green and Black's Chocolate Recipes. Martine lives in Cheshire, England.

Subject: Criminals England Fiction
Young women England Fiction
Upper class England Social life and customs 19th century Fiction
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Historical
Criminals
Upper class Social life and customs
Young women
England
Genre: Fiction.
Suspense fiction.
Mystery fiction.
Historical fiction.
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Additional Resources