Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Ada Public Library RIB (Text) 33500012269718 Main Available -
Moorhead Public Library RIB (Text) 33500012269700 Main Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781605989686
  • ISBN: 1605989681
  • Physical Description: 504 pages ; 24 cm
    print
  • Edition: First Pegasus Books hardcover edition.
  • Publisher: New York, NY : Pegasus Crime, an imprint of Pegasus Books LLC, 2016.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "London, 1912. The suffragette movement is reaching a fever pitch, and Inspector Frederick Primrose is hunting a murderer on his beat. Across town, Fleet Street reporter Frances “Frankie” George is chasing an interview with trapeze artist Ebony Diamond. Frankie finds herself fascinated by the tightly-laced acrobat and follows her to a Bond Street corset shop that seems to be hiding secrets of its own. When Ebony Diamond mysteriously disappears in the middle of a performance, Frankie and Primrose are both drawn into the shadowy world of a secret society with ties to both London's criminal underworld and its glittering socialites."--From book jacket.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2015 November #2
    Suffragettes, fetishists, murder, a missing trapeze artist, and the opportunity for a career-making news scoop set the stage for Ribchester's entertaining debut. Frankie, the plucky young heroine, is doing her darndest to cover some real news for the London Evening Gazette, which keeps her entrenched in fluffy women's-interest pieces. An assignment on aerialist and suffragette Ebony Diamond turns into the chance she's been hoping for, as two people close to the performer wind up dead, and Ebony herself vanishes. Intertwined with Frankie's story is that of the upstanding Detective Inspector Primrose, whose suffragette detail draws him into the fray. Set in 1912 London, the story brims with historical events (e.g., Jack the Ripper, the Titanic disaster, Holloway Jail hunger strikes), and readers will recognize prominent names in the women's rights movement, such as the Pankhursts, Pethick-Lawrences, and WSPU. Frankie, who wears slacks, smokes, and guzzles gin, is more naive than radical, and readers can't help but root for her success. A fun and fast-moving mystery, perfect for fans of Kerry Greenwood's Miss Fisher series. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Lucy Ribchester lives in Edinburgh. She was a recipient of a 2013 Scottish Book Trust New Writers Award and a 2016 Robert Louis Stevenson Fellowship. Her short stories have been shortlisted for the Costa Short Story Award and the Manchester Fiction Prize, and her first novel The Hourglass Factory was longlisted for the Goldsboro HWA Debut Crown. She also writes about dance and circus for Scotland&;s The List magazine. Find out more at lucyribchester.com.

Subject: Women journalists Fiction
Women Suffrage Great Britain Fiction
Suffragists Great Britain Fiction
London (England) History 20th century Fiction
Great Britain History George V, 1910-1936 Fiction
Genre: Thrillers (Fiction)
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Additional Resources