Record Details

Catalog Search

Search Results Showing Item 10 of 50 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Available copies

  • 4 of 4 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 4 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Detroit Lakes Public Library M BRO (Text) 33500012359204 Main Available -
Fosston Public Library M BRO (Text) 33500012359196 Main Available -
Hallock Public Library BRO (Text) 35500005771678 Main Available -
Warroad Public Library BRO (Text) 35500005771686 Main Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780553392470
  • ISBN: 0553392468
  • ISBN: 9780553392463
  • Physical Description: pages
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Bantam Books, [2016]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "Returning to Virginia's post-revolutionary history and to characters introduced in Tail Gait, the story follows the Garth sisters and their husbands, neighbors to a brutal slaveholder whose murder at the hands of one of his slaves is neither unexpected nor unwarranted, especially when the impetus was an attack on that slave's wife. The sisters manage to smuggle the fugitive to safety in York, Pennsylvania, while ensuring that the circumstances underlying the entire ordeal stay long buried. Until now. Harry and her animal companions come closer to drawing a link between the past and the present. And in this centuries-spanning caper, they will discover that hiding who you really are may have mortal consequences ... As the questions surrounding"--

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2016 May #2
    The intrepid feline Mrs. Murphy helps Mary Minor "Harry" Haristeen solve the murder of a home-care nurse in this latest in Brown's long-running pet mystery series. The story travels back and forth from the murder of the nurse, who was caring for Harry's best friend's grandfather, the former governor, and another murder involving slaves in post–Revolutionary War Virginia. The stories are connected, with the present-day murder having roots deep in the past. The legacy of racism is a theme throughout—in the slavery story, of course, but also in the governor's own past as a one-time defender of segregation. Keeping the characters and plotlines straight can be taxing but proves more than worth the effort for the richness of the story and especially its fascinating conclusion. As always in this series, there are plenty of humorous pet asides to leaven the proceedings. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Rita Mae Brown is the bestselling author of the Sneaky Pie Brown series; the Sister Jane series; the Runnymede books, including Six of One and Cakewalk; A Nose for Justice and Murder Unleashed; Rubyfruit Jungle; and In Her Day, as well as several other novels. An Emmy-nominated screenwriter and a poet, Brown lives in Afton, Virginia.
Sneaky Pie Brown, a tiger cat born somewhere in Albemarle County, Virginia, was discovered by Rita Mae Brown at her local SPCA. They have collaborated on numerous Mrs. Murphy mysteries—in addition to Sneaky Pie’s Cookbook for Mystery Lovers and Sneaky Pie for President.

Subject: Haristeen, Harry (Fictitious character) Fiction
Murphy, Mrs. (Fictitious character) Fiction
Women detectives Virginia Fiction
Women cat owners Fiction
Cats Fiction
FICTION Mystery & Detective Women Sleuths
FICTION Humorous
FICTION Suspense
Haristeen, Harry (Fictitious character)
Murphy, Mrs. (Fictitious character)
Women cat owners
Women detectives
Genre: Mystery fiction.
Search Results Showing Item 10 of 50 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Additional Resources