Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 5 of 656 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Moorhead Public Library LIN (Text) 33500012395562 Main Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 0393249603
  • ISBN: 9780393249606
  • Physical Description: 208 pages ; 22 cm
    print
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : W. W. Norton & Company, 2016.

Content descriptions

Formatted Contents Note: Evie M. -- Darla -- So bored in Nashville -- Chicks -- Clean -- They -- Bird (on back) -- In the alley that runs behind my rotted clapboard apartment house there are sick cats -- Colleen -- 11/19/98 -- Pickle -- Wall -- We come to our senses -- D. Garcia brings the war -- Hers.
Summary, etc.: "For readers of Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk and Redeployment, a searing debut exploring the lives of veterans returning to their homes in the South. Lacerating and lyrical, We Come to Our Senses centers on men and women affected by combat directly and tangentially, and the peculiar legacies of war. The story "Evie M." is about a vet turned office clerk whose petty neuroses derail even her suicide; in "We Come to Our Senses," a hip young couple leaves the city for the sticks, trading film festivals for firearms; in "Colleen" a woman redeploys to her Mississippi hometown, and confronts the superior who abused her at war; and in "11/19/98" a couple obsesses over sitcoms and retail catalogs, extracting joy and deeper meaning. The story "Hers" is about the sexual politics of a combat zone" --
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2016 July #1
    *Starred Review* Lindsey's debut artfully portrays the American South through the eyes of rednecks, vagrants, and, especially, young war veterans. A veteran himself, Lindsey has a keen and witty eye for the burdens the war-weary endure after their return home: barren desert nightmares, struggles to find love and articulate combat experiences, and living conditions scarcely better than those overseas. In a particularly evocative story, a suicidal vet's fixation on her menial job and a former lover just might save her life. In another, an enlistee spends his final night before deployment barhopping, less afraid of going off to war than of going for the wrong reason, or no reason at all. Most of the unemployed, drunks, and TV-rerun addicts on these pages have no other impetus to leave the trailer parks and bars they call home. Consider the rug salesman who's fired while protecting his girlfriend, whose illness foretells the relationship's end. Or the aspiring South Carolina screenwriter who moves to L.A. only to receive a lesson on women from the producers who reject his work. Lindsey's lyrical, frenetic prose calls to mind Barry Hannah; and, like Hannah, he imparts a grim and pitying hope to his characters. They may not be war heroes, but they understand survival better than most Americans. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

Subject: Veterans Fiction
Southern States Fiction
Veterans
Southern States
Genre: Fiction.
War stories.
Psychological fiction.
Psychological fiction
Search Results Showing Item 5 of 656 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Additional Resources