Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1

The Magdalen girls / V.S. ALexander.

Alexander, V. S., author. (Author).
Image of item

Available copies

  • 2 of 3 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium. (Show)
  • 1 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library.

Current holds

0 current holds with 3 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Crookston Public Library ALE (Text) 33500012346466 Main Checked out 11/05/2018
Detroit Lakes Public Library ALE (Text) 33500012346458 Main Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781496706126
  • ISBN: 1496706129
  • Physical Description: 294 pages ; 21 cm
  • Publisher: New York, NY : Kensington Books, [2017]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: When her beauty provokes a lustful revelation from a young priest, sixteen-year-old Teagan is sent to one of Dublin's Magdalen Laundries for fallen women, where she befriends two other girls who help her endure the harsh captivity.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2016 December #1
    Teagan Tiernan and Nora Craven were unlikely friends, but the Sisters of the Holy Redemption brought them together. Deep in the heart of the Dublin convent, they traded stolen whispers, comforted each other, and shared memories they would never forget. Teagan and Nora were sent to the convent to work in the Magdalen laundry, an institution run by the sisters to rehabilitate "fallen" women. Teagan's only crime was speaking to a young priest, but the rumors swirled in her small town and her parents saw the Magdalen laundry as her only option. While Teagan, Nora, and the other girls learned how to survive in their cruel new environment, they never stopped dreaming of the lives they could have led. Showcasing hard-won victories and a terrible tragedy, this novel shines a light on a dark period in twentieth-century Ireland. Alexander has done his homework, peppering his novel with details of the convent lifestyle and the shameful treatment of the Magdalen laundry girls. Fans of Barbara Davis and Ashley Hay will enjoy this tenderhearted story of sinners, saints, and redemption. Copyright 2016 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

V.S. Alexander is an ardent student of history with a strong interest in music and the visual arts. Some of V.S.’s writing influences include Shirley Jackson, Oscar Wilde, Daphne du Maurier, or any work by the exquisite Brontë sisters. V.S. lives in Florida and is at work on a second historical novel for Kensington.

Subject: Girls > Institutional care > Ireland > Dublin > Fiction.
Reformatories for women > Ireland > Dublin > Fiction.
Clergy > Sexual behavior > Fiction.
Runaway women > Fiction.
Female friendship > Fiction.
Workhouses > Ireland > Dublin > Fiction.
Dublin (Ireland) > Fiction.
FICTION / Coming of Age.
FICTION / Historical.
FICTION / Literary.
Coming of age > Fiction.
Genre: Historical fiction.
Psychological fiction.
Historical fiction.
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1

Additional Resources