Record Details

Catalog Search

Search Results Showing Item 1 of 6 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

The O. Henry prize stories 2015

Furman, Laura, (compiler,, author of introduction.). Hadley, Tessa, (writer of supplementary textual content.). Iskandrian, Kristen, (writer of supplementary textual content.). Parker, Michael, 1959- (writer of supplementary textual content.).

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Thief River Falls Public Library OHE (Text) 35500005920440 Main Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781101872314 (pbk.)
  • ISBN: 1101872314 (pbk.)
  • Physical Description: xxxv, 393 pages ; 21 cm
  • Publisher: New York : Anchor Books, a division of Penguin Random House LLC, 2015.

Content descriptions

General Note: O. Henry Memorial Award, 2015.
"The best stories of the year"--Cover.
"An Anchor Books Original"--Title page verso.
Formatted Contents Note: Finding Billy White Feather / Percival Everett -- The seals / Lydia Davis -- Kilifi Creek / Lionel Shriver -- The happiest girl in the whole USA / Manuel Mu©łoz -- A permanent member of the family / Russell Banks -- A ride out of Phrao / Dina Nayeri -- Owl / Emily Ruskovich -- The upside-down world / Becky Hagenston -- The way things are going / Lynn Freed -- The history of happiness / Brenda Peynado -- The Kingsley Drive Chorus / Naira Kuzmich -- Word of mouth / Emma T©œrzs -- Cabins / Christopher Merkner -- My grandmother tells me this story / Molly Antopol -- The Golden Rule / Lynne Sharon Schwartz -- About my aunt / Joan Silber -- Ba Baboon / Thomas Pierce -- Snow Blind / Elizabeth Strout -- I, Buffalo / Vauhini Vara -- Birdsong from the radio / Elizabeth McCracken -- Reading The O. Henry Prize Stories: the jurors on their favorites -- Writing The O. Henry Prize Stories: the writers on their work.
Summary, etc.: "The O. Henry Prize Stories 2015 gathers twenty of the best short stories of the year, selected from thousands published in literary magazines. The winning stories span the globe - from the glamorous Riviera to an Eastern European shtetl, from a Native American reservation to a tiny village in Thailand. But their characters are universally recognizable and utterly compelling, whether they are ex-pats in Africa, migrant workers crossing the Mexican border, Armenian immigrants on the rough streets of East Hollywood, or pioneers in nineteenth-century Idaho. Accompanying the stories are the editor's introduction, essays from the eminent jurors on their favorite stories, observations from the winning writers on what inspired them, and an extensive resource list of magazines."--provided by publisher.
Awards Note:
O. Henry Memorial Award, 2015.
Author Notes

Laura Furman, series editor of The O. Henry Prize Stories since 2003, is the winner of fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts for her fiction. The author of seven books, including her recent story collection The Mother Who Stayed, she taught writing for many years at the University of Texas at Austin. She lives in Central Texas.

Subject: Short stories, American
Short stories, Canadian
Canadian fiction 21st century
American fiction 21st century
Genre: Short stories.
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 6 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Additional Resources