Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 4 of 7 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

The Monster of Florence [electronic resource]. Douglas Preston.

Preston, Douglas. (Author). Boutsikaris, Dennis. (Added Author).
Image of item

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781415955253 (sound recording)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource (8 audio files) : digital
  • Edition: Unabridged.
  • Publisher: New York : Books on Tape, 2008.

Content descriptions

General Note: Unabridged.
Participant or Performer Note: Narrator: Dennis Boutsikaris.
Summary, etc.: In the tradition of John Berendt's Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil and Erik Larson's The Devil in the White City, Douglas Preston weaves a captivating account of crime and punishment in the lush hills of Florence, Italy.Douglas Preston fulfilled a lifelong dream when he moved with his family to a villa in Florence. Upon meeting celebrated journalist Mario Spezi, Preston was stunned to learn that the olive grove next to his home had been the scene of a horrific double murder committed by one of the most infamous figures in Italian history. A serial killer who ritually murdered fourteen young lovers, he has never been caught. He is known as the Monster of Florence. Fascinated by the tale, Preston began to work with Spezi on the case. Here is the true story of their search to uncover and confront the man they believe is the Monster. In an ironic twist of fate that echoes the dark traditions of the city's bloody history, Preston and Spezi themselves became targets of a bizarre police investigation. With the gripping suspense of Preston's bestselling novels, THE MONSTER OF FLORENCE tells a remarkable and harrowing chronicle of murder, mutilation, suicide, and vengeance–with Preston and Spezi caught in the middle. From the Compact Disc edition.
System Details Note: Requires OverDrive Listen (file size: N/A KB) or OverDrive app (file size: 276256 KB).
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2008 June #1
    Italian journalist Spezi, source of much of the ooky background info Preston incorporated into his and Lincoln Childs' serial-murder novel Brimstone (2004), gained much of his insight into the ghastly topic from his long-term reportage on the tangled investigation of the fiend referenced by the title of this book. After moving to Florence in 2000 and excitedly hearing about the local mystery of the murders of several pairs of young lovers in the 1970s and 1980s, Preston struck up with Spezi, joined the pursuit of the malefactor, and with Spezi eventually identified and interviewed a likely suspect. The local constabulary had other ideas. As the two writers closed in, Judge Giuliano Mignini brought them up short by informally charging them with interfering with his investigation. Later, he lodged formal charges against Spezi and had him arrested. Mignini had his own prime suspects, apparently thinking a satanic cult was responsible. Talk about your knotty true-crime situations! Officially, the investigation "grinds on with no end in sight," having claimed one more victim—Spezi's peace of mind. Copyright 2008 Booklist Reviews.

Subject: Nonfiction.
True Crime.
Genre: Electronic books.
Search Results Showing Item 4 of 7 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Additional Resources