Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Karolina's Twins [electronic resource] : A Novel. Ronald H Balson.

Balson, Ronald H. (Author).
Image of item

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781250089052 (electronic bk)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: In the tradition of The Nightingale, Sarah's Key, and Lilac Girls, comes a saga inspired by true events of a Holocaust survivor's quest to return to Poland and fulfill a promise, from Ronald H. Balson, author of the international bestseller Once We Were Brothers.~~"Readers who crave more books like Balson's Once We Were Brothers and Kristin Hannah's bestselling The Nightingale will be enthralled by Karolina's Twins." —Booklist (starred review)"A heart-wrenching but ultimately triumphant story." —Chicago Tribune~~She made a promise in desperationNow it's time to keep itLena Woodward, elegant and poised, has lived a comfortable life among Chicago Society since she immigrated to the US and began a new life at the end of World War II. But now something has resurfaced that Lena cannot ignore: an unfulfilled promise she made long ago that can no longer stay buried.Driven to renew the quest that still keeps her awake at night, Lena enlists the help of lawyer Catherine Lockhart and private investigator Liam Taggart. Behind Lena's stoic facade are memories that will no longer be contained. She begins to recount a tale, harkening back to her harrowing past in Nazi-occupied Poland, of the bond she shared with her childhood friend Karolina. Karolina was vivacious and beautiful, athletic and charismatic, and Lena has cherished the memory of their friendship her whole life. But there is something about the story that is unfinished, questions that must be answered about what is true and what is not, and what Lena is willing to risk to uncover the past. Has the real story been hidden these many years? And if so, why?Two girls, coming of age in a dangerous time, bearers of secrets that only they could share.Just when you think there could not be anything new to ferret out from World War II comes Karolina's Twins, a spellbinding new novel by the bestselling author of Once We Were Brothers and Saving Sophie. In this richly woven tale of love, survival and resilience during some of the darkest hours, the unbreakable bond between girlhood friends will have consequences into the future and beyond.
Reproduction Note: Electronic reproduction. New York : St. Martin's Griffin, 2016. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 1651 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB).
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2016 June #1
    *Starred Review* Attorney Catherine Lockhart and private investigator Liam Taggart are back in Balson's third novel, this time with a new client, Lena Woodward, an elderly Holocaust survivor. Lena's son doesn't want them looking into anything and forces a competency hearing for his mother, hoping to have himself appointed her guardian. Meanwhile, Lena spends days telling Catherine about her childhood in Poland, the Nazi takeover of her town, her job as a seamstress that helped her avoid the first wave of Jews sent to concentration camps, her time with the Resistance, her eventual trip to a camp, and her life since the war. Along the way, her childhood best friend, Karolina, is present, and the two girls try to save her twin babies during the war. Lena has no idea what happened to the babies, but if they survived, they would be 70 years old, and she is determined to find them. The search takes Liam to Poland, Israel, and Germany, but it is Lena's story that is so riveting. In a departure from Balson's previous novels, much of the story is told in the first person, befitting a book inspired by a Holocaust survivor's true story. Readers who crave more books like Balson's Once We Were Brothers (2013) and Kristin Hannah's best-selling The Nightingale (2014) will be enthralled by Karolina's Twins. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

RONALD H. BALSON is a Chicago trial attorney, an educator and writer. His practice has taken him to several international venues. He is also the author of Saving Sophie and the international bestseller Once We Were Brothers.

Subject: Fiction.
Historical Fiction.
Literature.
Genre: Electronic books.

Additional Resources