Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Climax Public Library BAU (Text) 33500012483541 Main Available -
Detroit Lakes Public Library BAU (Text) 33500012483533 Main Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 0544716957
  • ISBN: 9780544716957
  • Physical Description: 308 pages ; 22 cm
    print
  • Edition: First U.S. edition.
  • Publisher: Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2017.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: Retreating to her family's rural house in Ireland to escape the challenges of urban life, artist Frankie explores the chain of events that have challenged her mental stability and art education. As she picks up photography once more, she searches for meaning and healing while examining the natural world around her.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2017 March #2
    *Starred Review* Frankie is an artist in her midtwenties with depressive tendencies and a generally aimless outlook on the world. She decides to move into her late grandmother's cottage to keep an eye on the house, get some fresh air, and hunt for artistic inspiration while the cottage waits for a buyer. Frankie does a few chores and whizzes around the countryside on a refurbished bicycle, generally lost in her own thoughts. Her latest photography project might not win any awards, but it allows her to view the world around her in new and complex ways. Frankie knows that staying at the cottage won't fix everything, but it might inspire her to start fixing things for herself. Author Baume is an Irish native with a blissfully poetic voice perfectly suited to the novel's pastoral setting. Referencing works of art ranging from paint-daubed Impressionists to experimental performance pieces, she helpfully includes an index of cited works. Baume's second novel is a study in contrasts: high art against natural beauty, a mechanical turbine against the rustic Irish landscape, inner turmoil against outward appearances. Fans of Colum McCann and Richard Russo will adore this masterful and meditative novel that doesn't emphasize plot over atmosphere. Copyright 2017 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

SARA BAUME studied fine art before earning a master&;s in creative writing. She was short-listed for the Costa First Novel Award for Spill Simmer Falter Wither and was also the recipient of the Davy Byrnes Short Story Award and the Hennessy New Irish Writing Award. She lives in Cork, Ireland.

Subject: Women photographers Fiction
Nature stories
Ireland Fiction
Photography Fiction
FICTION Literary
FICTION Contemporary Women
Artists Fiction
Mental illness Fiction
Genre: Bildungsromans.
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Additional Resources