Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Available copies

  • 1 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Crookston Public Library M ELL (Text) 33500012603189 Main Available -
Moorhead Public Library M ELL (Text) 33500012603171 Main Checked out 12/12/2020

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781496710505
  • ISBN: 1496710509
  • Physical Description: 294 pages : 22 cm.
    print
  • Edition: First Kensington Harcover Edition.
  • Publisher: New York, NY : Kensington Publishing Corp., 2017.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: 1920. American adventuress Beryl Helliwell craves some peace and quiet, and Walmsley Parva in the English countryside seems just the ticket. Honestly, until America repeals Prohibition, Beryl has no intention of returning stateside. For over three decades, Edwina Davenport has lived comfortably in Walmsley Parva, but the post-World War I bust has forced her to advertise for a lodger-- and long-lost school chum Beryl crashes into her doorstep in her motorcar. When the town displays a hidden sinister side, they decide to set up shop as private inquiry agents.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2017 October #1
    Well-known American adventurer Beryl Helliwell is in need of some peace and quiet when she sees an advertisement for a lodger in the tiny English village of Walmsley Parva. Coincidentally, it is the home of her former school friend, the prim Edwina Davenport, who has fallen on hard times following WWI and is happy to take in Beryl as a roommate. Then someone tries to strangle Edwina. Why? Edwina believes it might have something to do with the disappearance several years ago of a young woman, Agnes Rollins, who worked in the Women's Land Army during the war; naturally, the friends start snooping. When they find Polly Watkins, a former member of the Women's Land Army, dead in a field, they are convinced they're on the right track. Well-drawn women of a certain age, plot twists, and details of wartime and postwar Britain distinguish this historical cozy, which will appeal to fans of Frances Brody's Kate Shackleton and Kerry Greenwood's Phryne Fisher. Copyright 2017 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Jessica Ellicott loves fountain pens, Mini Coopers, and throwing parties. She lives in northern New England where she obsessively knits wool socks and enthusiastically speaks Portuguese with a shocking disregard for the rules of grammar.

Subject: Americans England Fiction
Villages England Fiction
Murder Investigation Fiction
Genre: Mystery fiction.
Detective and mystery fiction.
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Additional Resources