Catalog

The catalog was upgraded on Sunday October 20th, 2019. Please report problems to your library.

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Scot free : the lighter side of the dark underbelly of the California dream #1

Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Breckenridge Public Library M MCP (Text) 33500012680435 Main Available -
Hawley Public Library M MCP (Text) 33500012680427 Main Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780738754512
  • ISBN: 0738753866
  • ISBN: 9780738753867
  • Physical Description: 274 pages ; 21 cm.
    print
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: Woodbury, Minnesota : Midnight Ink, [2018]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: Lexy Campbell fell in love and left her native Scotland for a golden life in California--hitched to a hunk, building her marriage counseling practice, living the dream. Six months later she's divorced, broke, and headed home. There's just one last thing. Lexy's only client--sweet little old Mrs. Bombarro--is in jail for murdering her husband with a fireworks rocket. Lexy knows the cops have got it wrong; all she needs is a few days to prove it and somewhere cheap to sleep at night. But checking into the Last Ditch Motel brings an unexpected slice of life and a whole world of trouble.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2018 February #2
    After ending her ill-conceived marriage to a philandering doctor, Lexy Campbell is all set to leave Cuento, California, for her native Scotland. She's just waiting for her marriage-counseling clients, Mr. and Mrs. Bombarro, to pop in for their last session when the police come knocking and announce that Mrs. Bombarro has been arrested for murdering Mr. Bombarro with stock from their pyrotechnics empire. Lexy is adamant that sweet Visalia Bombarro is no murderer. Plus, she's just helped the octogenarian lovebirds reconcile and knows they planned to make a fresh start in Sicily. Lexy's efforts to clear Visalia's name make for a madcap romp, as she and her insect-phobic sidekick, Todd, run up against hostile detectives, a vermin-planting vandal, and the Bombarros' niece Sparky and her hulking Russian bodyguards. McPherson, who has earned acclaim for her dark thrillers and Dandy Gilver period cozies, blends jaunty pacing, a comically rendered Southern California setting, and quirky characters in this series starter. A sure bet for fans of Janet Evanovich and Sarah Strohmeyer. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Catriona McPherson was born in Edinburgh, Scotland, and is the author of several standalone novels for Midnight Ink. She is a four-time winner of the Lefty Award, three-time winner of the Macavity Award, two-time winner of the Agatha Award, and two-time winner of the Anthony Award. Additionally, she has been a finalist or shortlist honoree for more than a dozen major awards. Catriona also writes the Dandy Gilver historical mystery series (Minotaur/Thomas Dunne Books). She is the past president of Sisters in Crime and a member of Mystery Writers of America. She lives in Davis, California.

Subject: Women private investigators Fiction
Murder Investigation Fiction
Women detectives Fiction
Scots California Fiction
Divorced women Fiction
Marriage counselors Fiction
Motels California Fiction
Divorced women
Marriage counselors
Motels
Murder Investigation
Scots
Women detectives
Women private investigators
California
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Cozy / General
Genre: Humorous fiction.
Detective and mystery fiction.
Mystery fiction.
Humorous fiction.
Fiction.
Detective and mystery fiction.
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Additional Resources