Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Death notice / Zhou Haohui ; translated by Zac Haluza.

Zhou, Haohui, 1977- author. (Author). Haluza, Zac, translator. (Added Author).
Image of item

Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Detroit Lakes Public Library ZHO (Text) 33500012728176 Main Available -
Mahnomen Public Library ZHO (Text) 33500012728192 Main Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780385543323
  • ISBN: 0385543328
  • Physical Description: pages cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Doubleday, 2018.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "An elite police squad hunts a manipulative mastermind out to publically execute criminals the law cannot reach. A wild thriller and deadly game of cat-and-mouse from one of China's most popular authors. For fans of Jo Nesbo, Se7en, and Hong Kong police cinema. The brutal murder of respected police officer Sergeant Zheng Haoming sends shockwaves through Chengdu, a modern metropolis in the heart of China's stunning Sichuan Province. He had been obsessed by an unsolved, eighteen-year-old murder case, until an entity calling themselves Eumenides (after the Greek goddess of vengeance and retribution) releases a terrifying manifesto. Is the manifesto a sick joke, or something more sinister? Soon, the public starts 'nominating' worthy targets for Eumenides to kill, and two days later, Sergeant Zheng is dead. Eumenides' cunning game is only getting started. The police receive a "death notice," a chilling note announcing the the killer's next target, the crimes they have committed, and the date of their execution. The note is both a challenge and a taunt to the police. When the first victim dies in public, under their complete protection, the police are left stunned. More death notices are coming. The chase is on. Death Notice is an explosive, page-turning thriller filtered through a vibrant cultural lens. Zhou Haohui expertly adds an exhilarating new prespective to the twists and tropes of the genre all fans love, making for a uniquely propulsive and entertaining read"-- Provided by publisher.
"An elite police squad hunts a manipulative mastermind out to publically execute criminals the law cannot reach"-- Provided by publisher.
Language Note: Originally published in Chinese as "Si wang tong zhi dan: an hei zhe" in 2014.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2018 May #1
    *Starred Review* When Captain Pei Tao of the suburban Longzhou police is found crouched over the bloodied body of Sergeant Zheng Haoming, Chengdu's most revered detective, he insists that the murder is connected to Zheng's investigation of a notorious cold case. Eighteen years ago, Pei's girlfriend, Meng Yun; his police-academy roommate, Yuan Zibang; and a Chengdu police detective were killed by a vigilante using the moniker Eumenides. Now Pei, after receiving a letter from Eumenides announcing that his "final act" will take place soon, has come to Chengdu hoping to join forces with Zheng. Although reluctant to eliminate Pei as a suspect, Zheng's commander, Captain Han Hao, allows Pei to join the new Eumenides task force. As the task force scrambles to protect those targeted in Eumenides' proclamations, Pei and the team's criminal psychologist, Mu, revisit the killer's first crime, revealing the dangerous competition between Pei and Meng that spawned Eumenides. Zhou's story is thoughtfully constructed (and skillfully translated), balancing an exploration of loyalty, jealousy, and the moral tension between law and justice with Pei's sharp observations and gifted logic. This procedural, the first novel in China's most popular suspense trilogy, boasts the rich cultural immersion, the bird's-eye view of procedural technique in an international police force, and the complex mysteries that have long driven the popularity of Scandinavian crime fiction. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

ZHOU HAOHUI is regarded as one of the top three suspense authors in China today. The Death Notice trilogy is China's bestselling work of suspense fiction to date. The online series based on these novels has received more than 2.4 billion views and achieved almost legendary status among Chinese online dramas. He lives in Yangzhou, in China's Jiangsu province.

Zac Haluza is a freelance translator and writer from the United States. He currently lives in Shanghai.

Subject: Police > Fiction.
Vigilantes > Fiction.
Executions and executioners > Fiction.
Retribution > Fiction.
Chengdu (China) > Fiction.
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural.
Executions and executioners
Police.
Retribution
Vigilantes.
China > Chengdu.
Genre: Mystery fiction.
Suspense fiction.
Fiction.
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Additional Resources