Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 12 of 40 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Heart of thorns [electronic resource]. Bree Barton.

Barton, Bree. (Author).
Image of item

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780062447708 (electronic bk)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: Inventive and heart-racing, this fierce feminist teen fantasy from debut author Bree Barton explores a dark kingdom in which only women can possess magic—and every woman is suspected of having it.Fans of Leigh Bardugo and Laini Taylor won't want to miss this gorgeously written, bold novel, the first in the Heart of Thorns trilogy.In the ancient river kingdom, where touch is a battlefield and bodies the instruments of war, Mia Rose has pledged her life to hunting Gwyrach: women who can manipulate flesh, bones, breath, and blood. The same women who killed her mother without a single scratch.But when Mia's father announces an alliance with the royal family, she is forced to trade in her knives and trousers for a sumptuous silk gown. Determined to forge her own path forward, Mia plots a daring escape, but could never predict the greatest betrayal of all: her own body. Mia possesses the very magic she has sworn to destroy.Now, as she untangles the secrets of her past, Mia must learn to trust her heart...even if it kills her.
Reproduction Note: Electronic reproduction. New York : Katherine Tegen Books, 2018. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 5099 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB).
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2018 May #1
    In the kingdom of Glas Ddir, only women can possess magic, and those women are feared, reviled, and persecuted. But not all women have magic; only the Gwyrach, mixed-race mortals who are also descended from gods, have such powers. All her life, 17-year-old Mia Rose has been trained to hate, distrust, hunt, and kill the Gwyrach. Now, on the eve of a politically arranged marriage to the cold but handsome Prince Quin, Mia finds out that she herself is a Gwyrach. So begins her odyssey throughout the kingdom to confront her mother's murderer and come to grips with her newfound heritage. The feminist backstory features sympathetic portrayals of LGBTQ characters; the main plot, meanwhile, relies heavily on standard romance conventions. Overall, Barton's short chapters, inventive landscapes, swift pacing, and use of comfortably familiar fairy tale elements all combine for a compulsively readable fantasy. Grades 9-12. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Subject: Young Adult Fiction.
Fantasy.
Romance.
Young Adult Literature.
Genre: Electronic books.
Search Results Showing Item 12 of 40 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Additional Resources