Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 56 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Available copies

  • 3 of 3 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 3 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Barnesville Public Library LUN (Text) 33500012836458 Main Available -
Hawley Public Library LUN (Text) 33500012836466 Main Available -
Godel Memorial-Warren Library LUN (Text) 35500006125510 Main Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781328473516 (ebook)
  • ISBN: 1328473015
  • ISBN: 9781328473011
  • Physical Description: pages cm
    print
  • Edition: First U.S. edition.
  • Publisher: Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2019.
  • Badges:
    • Top Holds Over Last 5 Years: 1 / 5.0

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "Written with love, told with joy. Very easy to enjoy."--Fredrik Backman, author of A Man Called Ove For fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared comes a heartwarming debut about 96-year-old Doris, who writes down the memories of her eventful life as she pages through her decades-old address book. But the most profound moment of her life is still to come . . . Meet Doris, a 96-year-old woman living alone in her Stockholm apartment. She has few visitors, but her weekly Skype calls with Jenny--her American grandniece, and her only relative--give her great joy and remind her of her own youth. When Doris was a girl, she was given an address book by her father, and ever since she has carefully documented everyone she met and loved throughout the years. Looking through the little book now, Doris sees the many crossed-out names of people long gone and is struck by the urge to put pen to paper. In writing down the stories of her colorful past--working as a maid in Sweden, modelling in Paris during the 30s, fleeing to Manhattan at the dawn of the Second World War--can shehelp Jenny, haunted by a difficult childhood, unlock the secrets of their family and finally look to the future? And whatever became of Allan, the love of Doris's life? A charming novel that prompts reflection on the stories we all should carry to the next generation, and the surprises in life that can await even the oldest among us, The Red Address Book introduces Sofia Lundberg as a wise--and irresistible--storyteller.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2018 November #1
    A lifetime of memories is contained within the worn leather covers of an address book, which was given to Doris by her father on her tenth birthday. Doris has kept the book all her life, but now, at 96 years old, living alone in Stockholm, she has crossed off most of the names it contains, as one by one her loved ones have died. Their stories, however, remain, and in a solitary existence punctuated only by visits from caretakers and Skype calls with her grandniece in faraway San Francisco, Doris begins to write down what she remembers. Her story stretches from working as a young maid in Stockholm through her years as a living mannequin at the center of 1930s Parisian fashion, and then adjusting to a new life in Manhattan. The relationships she forms along the way, from the tortured gay artist who becomes a lifelong friend to the charismatic young man whose love drives Doris to battle enormous odds in an attempt to find him during WWII, are beautifully brought to life in this sweetly elegiac novel. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

SOFIA LUNDBERG is a journalist and former magazine editor. The Red Address Book will be published in 28 territories worldwide. 

Subject: Older women Fiction
Reminiscing in old age Fiction
Older women
Reminiscing in old age
Genre: Fiction.
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 56 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Additional Resources