Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The red daughter / John Burnham Schwartz.

Schwartz, John Burnham, author. (Author).
Image of item

Available copies

  • 0 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 0 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
LARL Cataloging LARL55150 (Text) LARL55149 New On order -
LARL Cataloging LARL55150 (Text) LARL55150 New On order -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781400068463
  • ISBN: 1400068460
  • Physical Description: pages cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Random House, [2019]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "Running from her father's brutal legacy, Joseph Stalin's daughter defects to the United States against the turbulence of the 1960s. For fans of We Were the Lucky Ones and A Gentleman in Moscow, this sweeping historical novel is inspired by the true story of Svetlana Alliluyeva. In one of the most momentous events of the Cold War, Svetlana Allilyueva, the forty-one-year-old daughter of the notorious tyrannical leader of the USSR, abruptly abandoned her life in Moscow in 1967, arriving in New York to throngs of reporters and a nation hungry to hear her story. By her side is Peter Horvath, a lawyer in his mid-thirties who is sent by the CIA to escort Svetlana to America. Rootless, lonely, and bewildered by her adopted country's radically different society, Svetlana takes refuge in Arizona with the widow of architect Frank Lloyd Wright, makes a hasty marriage, and has a child. Floundering, she reaches out to Peter, her first connection in America and, it seems, the only person she can genuinely count on. When their relationship becomes more than just professional, it unfolds under the eyes of her CIA minders, and Svetlana and Peter's private lives are no longer their own. The author's father was in fact the young lawyer who escorted the real Svetlana to the United States. Based on his father's reminiscences as well as his own extensive research into Svetlana's life, John Burnham Schwartz recreates this dramatic story of a woman's search for a new life and a place to belong, in the evocative and imaginative prose that have made him a critically acclaimed, bestselling author of literary and historical fiction"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2019 March #1
    As in The Commoner (2008), modeled on Japan's empress, Schwartz again demonstrates his adroitness at illustrating the troubled lives of high-profile twentieth-century women. His new subject is Svetlana Alliluyeva, Stalin's daughter, whose defection to the U.S. in 1967 drew international attention and furor. Schwartz has a personal connection, since his lawyer father brought Alliluyeva to America under CIA cover, but his personality and role have been fictionalized. In Schwartz's variation, in private journals left to her former lawyer, Peter Horvath, Svetlana details her itinerant life, attempts to become Americanized, and feels guilt over abandoning her adult children, whom she had hoped to liberate from her past. An unlikely correspondence leads her to an Arizona-based group of Frank Lloyd Wright acolytes whose repressive commune, ruled by Wright's widow, feels very Russian. Strong-willed and needy, Svetlana grows close to Peter, straining his relationship with his wife. What she doesn't reveal is also illuminating; we learn almost nothing of her earlier marriages. A perceptive exploration of identity, motherhood, and how one woman valiantly tried to shed the heavy mantle of her father's infamous legacy. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

John Burnham Schwartz is the bestselling author of five novels, including Northwest Corner, The Commoner, and Reservation Road, which was made into a film based on his screenplay. His books have been translated into twenty languages, and he has done extensive screen and television writing for the major Hollywood studios, including as screenwriter of HBO Films’ The Wizard of Lies starring Robert De Niro and Michelle Pfeiffer, for which he was nominated for a 2018 Writers Guild of America Award for Outstanding Writing. Literary Director of the Sun Valley Writers’ Conference, he lives in Brooklyn with his wife, writer Aleksandra Crapanzano, and their son, Garrick.

Subject: Allilueva, Svetlana, 1926-2011 > Fiction.
Allilueva, Svetlana, 1926-2011.
Children of heads of state > Soviet Union > Fiction.
Defectors > United States > Fiction.
FICTION / Literary.
FICTION / Historical.
FICTION / Biographical.
Children of heads of state.
Defectors.
Soviet Union.
United States.
Genre: Biographical fiction.
Historical fiction.
Fiction.

Additional Resources