Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The Ash family / Molly Dektar.

Dektar, Molly, author. (Author).
Image of item

Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Climax Public Library DEK (Text) 33500013049473 New Available -
McIntosh Public Library DEK (Text) 33500013049481 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781501144868
  • ISBN: 1501144863
  • ISBN: 9781501144875
  • ISBN: 1501144871
  • Physical Description: pages cm
  • Publisher: New York : Simon & Schuster, 2019.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: When a young woman leaves her family, and the civilized world, to join an off-the-grid community headed by an enigmatic leader, she discovers that belonging comes with a deadly cost, in this lush and searing debut novel. At nineteen, Berie encounters a seductive and mysterious man at a bus station near her home in North Carolina. Shut off from the people around her, she finds herself compelled by his promise of a new life. He ferries her into a place of order and chaos: the Ash Family farm. There, she joins an intentional community living off the fertile land of the mountains, bound together by high ideals and through relationships she can't untangle. Berie, now renamed Harmony, renounces her old life and settles into her new one on the farm. She begins to make friends. And then they start to disappear. Thrilling and profound, The Ash Family explores what we will sacrifice in the search for happiness, and the beautiful and grotesque power of the human spirit as it seeks its ultimate place of belonging.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2019 February #1
    *Starred Review* This lyrical debut novel follows Berie, a North Carolina teenager headed for her freshman year of college. En route, Berie meets Bay, an alluring mountain type who leads Berie back to his "farm" and away from the safety of her predestined future. Bay's farm is actually the compound of the Ash Family, an environmentalist community living off the land in the Great Smoky Mountains. The mission of the group is straightforward and benevolent: cease all behavior that damages the Earth. The group's Jim Jones–style leader, Dice, even describes them as "too smart to be utopian." Berie is easily indoctrinated, and she leans enthusiastically into her role within the family, caring for animals and making meaningful relationships with other members. Unfortunately, it becomes clear that danger lurks behind every decision the family makes. Shirking Western medicine leads to making botched abortion tea. Simple viruses threaten to wipe out the entire group. When the compound is threatened by developers, Berie finds herself canning napalm instead of pickles and fruit. Dektar's deft construction of the Ash Family's world and their environmentalist values brings a meaningful new story to the canon of cult narratives. Perfect for fans of Philip Roth's American Pastoral (1997) and the film Martha, Marcy, May, Marlene. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Subject: Communal living > Fiction.
Missing persons > Fiction.
Communal living.
Missing persons.
Genre: Mystery fiction.
Fiction.

Additional Resources