Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

The hiding place / C.J. Tudor.

Tudor, C. J., author. (Author).
Image of item

Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Crookston Public Library TUD (Text) 33500013002308 New Available -
Moorhead Public Library TUD (Text) 33500013002290 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781524761011
  • ISBN: 152476101X
  • Physical Description: 278 pages ; 25 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Crown, [2019]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "The thrilling second novel from the author of The Chalk Man, about a teacher with a hidden agenda who returns to settle scores at a school he once attended, only to uncover a darker secret than he could have imagined. Joe never wanted to come back to Arnhill. After the way things ended with his old gang--the betrayal, the suicide, the murder--and after what happened when his sister went missing, the last thing he wanted to do was return to his hometown. But Joe doesn't have a choice. Because judging by what was done to that poor Morton kid, what happened all those years ago to Joe's sister is happening again. And only Joe knows who is really at fault. Lying his way into a teaching job at his former high school is the easy part. Facing off with former friends who are none too happy to have him back in town--while avoiding the enemies he's made in the years since--is tougher. But the hardest part of all will be returning to that abandoned mine where it all went wrong and his life changed forever, and finally confronting the shocking, horrifying truth about Arnhill, his sister, and himself. Because for Joe, the worst moment of his life wasn't the day his sister went missing. It was the day she came back. With the same virtuosic command of character and pacing she displayed in The Chalk Man, CJ Tudor has once again crafted an extraordinary novel that brilliantly blends harrowing psychological suspense, a devilishly puzzling mystery, and enough shocks and thrills to satisfy even the most seasoned reader"-- Provided by publisher.
"A suspense novel about a teacher returning to his hometown"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2018 December #1
    Joe Thorne hasn't returned to Arnhill, the gritty mining town where he grew up, since his father and sister died, but when he learns of the apparent murder-suicide of an Arnhill teacher and her son, Joe is gripped by the similarities to his family's story. Like Joe's sister, Annie, the supposedly murdered boy disappeared for 24 hours, returning drastically changed and unable to say where he'd been. Whatever forces took Annie appear to be back, and Joe resolves to confront them. He easily secures a teaching position at Arnhill's high school and agrees to rent the deceased teacher's home, made affordable by its barely dry crime scene. Once in Arnhill, however, things get complicated: his bullying childhood friend, Steve, is gunning for him; his bookie's sadistic enforcer is a constant threat; and he's finally forced to face his own role in Annie's disappearance. Joe's wisecracking is well-timed comic relief from Arnhill's pervasive darkness; Tudor has crafted another fantastic horror-tinged thriller (after The Chalk Man, 2018) in the vein of John Connolly and Brendan Duffy. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

C. J. TUDOR is the author of The Chalk Man, and lives in Nottingham, England, with her partner and three-year-old daughter. Over the years she has worked as a copywriter, television presenter, voice-over, and dog walker. She is now thrilled to be able to write full-time, and doesn't miss chasing wet dogs through muddy fields all that much.

Subject: Homecoming > Fiction.
Teachers > Fiction.
Secrecy > Fiction.
Revenge > Fiction.
Murder > Fiction.
Brothers and sisters > Fiction.
Abandoned mines > Fiction.
England > Fiction.
FICTION / Suspense.
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Traditional British.
Suspense fiction. .
Mystery fiction. .
Genre: Psychological fiction.
Psychological fiction.
Mystery fiction.
Suspense fiction.
Psychological fiction.
Psychological fiction.
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Additional Resources