Catalog

The catalog was upgraded on Sunday October 20th, 2019. Please report problems to your library.

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Crookston Public Library TUD (Text) 33500013002308 New Available -
Moorhead Public Library TUD (Text) 33500013002290 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 152476101X
  • ISBN: 9781524761011
  • Physical Description: 278 pages ; 25 cm
    print
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Crown, [2019]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "A suspense novel about a teacher returning to his hometown"--
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2018 December #1
    Joe Thorne hasn't returned to Arnhill, the gritty mining town where he grew up, since his father and sister died, but when he learns of the apparent murder-suicide of an Arnhill teacher and her son, Joe is gripped by the similarities to his family's story. Like Joe's sister, Annie, the supposedly murdered boy disappeared for 24 hours, returning drastically changed and unable to say where he'd been. Whatever forces took Annie appear to be back, and Joe resolves to confront them. He easily secures a teaching position at Arnhill's high school and agrees to rent the deceased teacher's home, made affordable by its barely dry crime scene. Once in Arnhill, however, things get complicated: his bullying childhood friend, Steve, is gunning for him; his bookie's sadistic enforcer is a constant threat; and he's finally forced to face his own role in Annie's disappearance. Joe's wisecracking is well-timed comic relief from Arnhill's pervasive darkness; Tudor has crafted another fantastic horror-tinged thriller (after The Chalk Man, 2018) in the vein of John Connolly and Brendan Duffy. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

C. J. Tudor is the author of The Hiding Place and The Chalk Man, which won the International Thriller Writers Award for Best First Novel and the Strand Magazine Award for Best Debut Novel. Over the years she has worked as a copywriter, television presenter, voice-over artist, and dog walker. She is now thrilled to be able to write full-time, and doesn't miss chasing wet dogs through muddy fields all that much. She lives in England with her partner and daughter.

Subject: Homecoming Fiction
Teachers Fiction
Secrecy Fiction
Revenge Fiction
Murder Fiction
Brothers and sisters Fiction
Abandoned mines Fiction
England Fiction
FICTION / Suspense
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Traditional British
Suspense fiction
Mystery fiction
Genre: Psychological fiction.
Psychological fiction.
Suspense fiction.
Mystery fiction.
Psychological fiction.
Psychological fiction.
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Additional Resources