The catalog was upgraded on Sunday October 20th, 2019. Please report problems to your library.

Record Details

Catalog Search

Available copies

  • 1 of 3 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 3 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Barnesville Public Library M GRI (Text) 33500013060892 New Available -
Moorhead Public Library M GRI (Text) 33500013060884 New Checked out 11/07/2019
Hallock Public Library GRI (Text) 35500006172587 Main Checked out 11/13/2019

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781328974655
  • ISBN: 1328974642
  • ISBN: 9781328974648
  • Physical Description: 364 pages ; 22 cm.
  • Edition: First U.S. edition.
  • Publisher: Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, [2019]

Content descriptions

General Note: First published in Great Britain in 2019 by Quercus.
Summary, etc.: "In the eleventh installment of the award-winning Ruth Galloway series, she and DCI Nelson are haunted by a ghost from their past, just as their future lands on shaky ground"--

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2019 April #1
    This is the eleventh Ruth Galloway novel (after The Dark Angel, 2018) from the award-winning Griffiths, who is consistently very canny about conveying the uncanny. She always involves an element of the supernatural in her plots—so appropriate to her setting in marshy East Anglia, a place that seems not quite earth, not quite sea—and this time around, it appears that forensic archaeologist Ruth and DCI Nelson are being haunted by a ghost from their past. Or so it seems when they receive threatening letters reminiscent of earlier missives from their first case together (The Crossing Places, 2009). But dead men don't write letters. Or do they? With plenty of warmth to counter the eeriness, all the usual distinctive characters—with a new addition who is quite the surprise—pass their daily lives in delightful detail as the investigation wears on. Griffiths' fans who reach each of her inevitably complex endings wishing for still more will be pleased with a note in her acknowledgments: "I don't think I have nearly exhausted all the myths and legends of East Anglia, let alone its archaeological wonders." See ya soon, Ruth! Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

ELLY GRIFFITHS is the author of the Ruth Galloway and Magic Men mystery series, and the standalone novel The Stranger Diaries. She is a recipient of the Mary Higgins Clark Award and the CWA Dagger in the Library Award.

Subject: Galloway, Ruth (Fictitious character) Fiction
Galloway, Ruth (Fictitious character)
Women forensic anthropologists Fiction
Murder Investigation Fiction
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
Genre: Detective and mystery fiction.
Mystery fiction.

Additional Resources