Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

The Martin chronicles / John Fried.

Fried, John, 1968- author. (Author).
Image of item

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Thief River Falls Public Library FRI (Text) 35500006126641 Main Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781538729830
  • ISBN: 1538729830
  • Physical Description: 259 pages ; 22 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Grand Central Publishing, 2019.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: A powerful and heartfelt coming-of-age novel that follows Martin Kelso as he grows up in 1980s New York and faces the magic of first experiences, as well as the heartbreak of hard-won life lessons. Martin Kelso's comfortable world starts to change at the age of eleven. Girls get under his skin in ways he never noticed before. His cousin Evie, who used to be Marty's closest confidante--the one who taught him the right way to eat a pizza and how to catch tadpoles--has grown up into a stranger, mysterious and unpredictable. Marty and his best friends once inhabited fantasy worlds of their own making, full of cowboys and cops and robbers, where the heroes always won the day. But now, as neighborhood kids are attacked on their walk to school, they find themselves wanting to play a new game that better prepares them for real life. As life changes quickly and Marty feels less secure with himself, the difference between games and reality, friend and foe, and right from wrong becomes much more difficult to distinguish. At the same time, this new world offers possibilities as exciting as they are frightening. This poignant debut perfectly captures the intense emotion, humor, and earnestness of young adulthood as Marty, age eleven to seventeen, navigates a series of life-changing firsts: first kiss, first enemy, first loss, and, ultimately, his first awareness that the world is not as simple a place as he had once imagined.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2018 November #1
    Martin Kelso is in the sixth grade when he notices that some girls seem to have a special type of power, and it isn't long before he finds himself under their spell. Innocent games take on deeper meanings, and simple lessons suddenly have profound repercussions. As Marty grows older, the girls orbiting his life take on more importance, searing his first kiss, first dance, and first date into his memory. He doesn't think he'll ever have girls completely figured out, but a clue here and there sure would be nice. In vignettes spanning sixth grade to the end of high school, this is a true coming-of-age story and more character study than plot-driven tale. Fried infuses every page with warmth and wonder. The setting on the bustling streets of 1980s Manhattan is the perfect mirror for Marty's swirling emotions. Fans of Brady Udall and Matthew Norman will appreciate Marty's honesty, humor, and angst as he discovers his rightful place in his family, at school, and in his social circle. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

John Fried teaches creative writing at Duquesne University in Pittsburgh. He received his MFA from Warren Wilson College's Program for Writers. His short fiction has appeared in numerous journals, including the Gettysburg Review, North American Review, and Columbia Journal. Prior to teaching, he was a magazine writer and editor in New York, and his work appeared in various publications, including the New York Times Magazine, Rolling Stone, New York, Time, and Real Simple.

Subject: Boys > Fiction.
New York (N.Y.) > Fiction.
Genre: Bildungsromans.
Bildungsromans.
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Additional Resources