Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The lager queen of Minnesota [electronic resource] / J. Ryan Stradal.

Stradal, J. Ryan. (Author).

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780399563072 (electronic bk)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
A novel of family, Midwestern values, hard work, fate and the secrets of making a world-class beer, from the bestselling author of Kitchens of the Great Midwest Two sisters, one farm. A family is split when their father leaves their shared inheritance entirely to Helen, his younger daughter. Despite baking award-winning pies at the local nursing home, her older sister, Edith, struggles to make what most people would call a living. So she can't help wondering what her life would have been like with even a portion of the farm money her sister kept for herself. With the proceeds from the farm, Helen builds one of the most successful light breweries in the country, and makes their company motto ubiquitous: "Drink lots. It's Blotz." Where Edith has a heart as big as Minnesota, Helen's is as rigid as a steel keg. Yet one day, Helen will find she needs some help herself, and she could find a potential savior close to home. . . if it's not too late. Meanwhile, Edith's granddaughter, Diana, grows up knowing that the real world requires a tougher constitution than her grandmother possesses. She earns a shot at learning the IPA business from the ground up—will that change their fortunes forever, and perhaps reunite her splintered family? Here we meet a cast of lovable, funny, quintessentially American characters eager to make their mark in a world that's often stacked against them. In this deeply affecting family saga, resolution can take generations, but when it finally comes, we're surprised, moved, and delighted.
Reproduction Note:
Electronic reproduction. New York : Pamela Dorman Books, 2019. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 1253 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB).
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2019 June #1
    *Starred Review* Edith Magnusson never thought she'd be figuring out how to translate the flavors of her award-winning pies into beer, but she's had plenty of practice being adaptable. Ever since her father left the family farm to her sister, Helen, Edith has learned to make do on her own. She and her husband raised their children comfortably, but not extravagantly, and no job was ever too small for Edith. When her granddaughter, Diana, turns a severance package into ownership of a fledgling craft brewery, she's surprised to find that brewing is in the family bloodline. A chance to mend decades-old resentment resurfaces, and Edith, Helen, and Diana have to decide how to best navigate the tricky waters of reconciliation. A love story to Minnesota, craft beer, and the power of second chances, Stradal's (Kitchens of the Great Midwest, 2015) second novel goes down easy. Perspective shifts among Helen, Edith, and Diana, letting each woman speak for herself and allowing their narratives to build off one another, despite the non-linear timeline. Imbued with Midwestern references and the importance of a "can-do" attitude, this warm, witty novel will appeal to fans of Curtis Sittenfeld and Meg Wolitzer. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

J. Ryan Stradal is the author of New York Times bestseller Kitchens of the Great Midwest and national bestseller The Lager Queen of Minnesota. His writing has appeared in The Wall Street Journal, The Guardian, Granta, The Rumpus, and the Los Angeles Review of Books, among other places. His debut, Kitchens of the Great Midwest, won the American Booksellers Association Indie's Choice Award for Adult Debut Book of the Year, the Southern California Independent Booksellers Association award for fiction, and the Midwest Booksellers Choice Award for debut fiction. Born and raised in Minnesota, he now lives in Los Angeles.

Subject: Fiction.
Literature.
Genre: Electronic books.
LDR 03160nam a2200325Ka 4500
001324896
003LARL_NWRL_CONSORTIUM
006m d
007cr cn---------
008190131s2019 nyu s 000 1 eng d
020 . ‡a9780399563072 (electronic bk)
037 . ‡a69FCA7B4-55B9-400E-AF7C-C4AC67B63456 ‡bOverDrive, Inc. ‡nhttp://www.overdrive.com
040 . ‡aTEFOD ‡cTEFOD
084 . ‡aFIC019000 ‡aFIC044000 ‡aFIC045000 ‡2bisacsh
1001 . ‡aStradal, J. Ryan.
24514. ‡aThe lager queen of Minnesota ‡h[electronic resource] / ‡cJ. Ryan Stradal.
260 . ‡c2019.
300 . ‡a1 online resource
336 . ‡atext ‡btxt ‡2rdacontent
337 . ‡acomputer ‡bc ‡2rdamedia
338 . ‡aonline resource ‡bcr ‡2rdacarrier
520 . ‡aA novel of family, Midwestern values, hard work, fate and the secrets of making a world-class beer, from the bestselling author of Kitchens of the Great Midwest Two sisters, one farm. A family is split when their father leaves their shared inheritance entirely to Helen, his younger daughter. Despite baking award-winning pies at the local nursing home, her older sister, Edith, struggles to make what most people would call a living. So she can't help wondering what her life would have been like with even a portion of the farm money her sister kept for herself. With the proceeds from the farm, Helen builds one of the most successful light breweries in the country, and makes their company motto ubiquitous: "Drink lots. It's Blotz." Where Edith has a heart as big as Minnesota, Helen's is as rigid as a steel keg. Yet one day, Helen will find she needs some help herself, and she could find a potential savior close to home. . . if it's not too late. Meanwhile, Edith's granddaughter, Diana, grows up knowing that the real world requires a tougher constitution than her grandmother possesses. She earns a shot at learning the IPA business from the ground up—will that change their fortunes forever, and perhaps reunite her splintered family? Here we meet a cast of lovable, funny, quintessentially American characters eager to make their mark in a world that's often stacked against them. In this deeply affecting family saga, resolution can take generations, but when it finally comes, we're surprised, moved, and delighted.
533 . ‡aElectronic reproduction. ‡bNew York : ‡cPamela Dorman Books, ‡d2019. ‡nRequires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 1253 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB).
65017. ‡aFiction. ‡2OverDrive ‡0(LARL_NWRL_CONSORTIUM)20140
650 7. ‡aLiterature. ‡2OverDrive ‡0(LARL_NWRL_CONSORTIUM)24658
655 7. ‡aElectronic books. ‡2local
7761 . ‡cOriginal ‡z9780399563058
85640. ‡uhttp://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=650&titleID=4455769 ‡zClick to access LARL eBook ‡9LARL
85640. ‡uhttps://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=69fca7b4-55b9-400e-af7c-c4ac67b63456&.epub-sample.overdrive.com ‡zSample ‡9LARL
8564 . ‡3Image ‡uhttps://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/1523-1/%7B69FCA7B4-55B9-400E-AF7C-C4AC67B63456%7DImg100.jpg ‡zLarge cover image
8564 . ‡3Thumbnail ‡uhttps://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/1523-1/%7B69FCA7B4-55B9-400E-AF7C-C4AC67B63456%7DImg200.jpg ‡zThumbnail cover image
905 . ‡uvanderl
901 . ‡a324896 ‡b ‡c324896 ‡tbiblio ‡sOverdrive

Additional Resources