Catalog

We are carefully monitoring information about the coronavirus (COVID-19) and in effort to protect staff, customers and our communities, all locations will close for an undefined duration beginning Tuesday, March 17. We will not be charging fines during this period; please keep your materials at home until we reopen. For more information visit larl.org.

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Climax Public Library M LEV (Text) 33500013187158 New Available -
Fertile Public Library M LEV (Text) 33500013187141 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780451498465
  • ISBN: 0451498461
  • Physical Description: 290 pages ; 21 cm
  • Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books, [2020].

Content descriptions

General Note:
"A Ballantine Books trade paperback original"--Title page verso.
Summary, etc.:
"It's December 1896, and after marrying a muckraking reporter, detective Mary Handley shifts her focus pursuing new cases to raising her newborn daughter. But when her husband is found dead, Mary knows that her next case must be solving his murder. Harper was working on a big story--did it get him killed? Mary's investigation soon leads to the very top of the New York food chain. Realizing she's outgunned, Mary turns to the one person who might be able to help: police commissioner Tedd Roosevelt. As the two dig deep into the underbelly of New York's social scene, they uncover a sinister plot exploiting the city's most vulnerable citizens."--Back cover.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2020 January #1
    In 1896 New York, consulting detective Mary Handley seeks to take only cases that will not impinge on time with her nine-year-old daughter. However, when W. S. Gilbert, in New York to produce a musical, asks Mary to retrieve the manuscript of a stolen play and pay the ransom at a spot outside Brooklyn's Prospect Park, she agrees. But the drop goes wrong, and even her jujitsu skills don't help when a gunshot grazes her ear. When she comes to [a gunshot grazing her ear is enough to render her unconscious?], the manuscript and ransom money are gone, and her journalist husband Harper's body is in a nearby alley. Determined to find both the missing manuscript and her husband's killer, Mary draws on her personal connection to police commissioner Theodore Roosevelt to help gain entrée to Gilded Age society as well as to Broadway luminaries. Levy masterfully incorporates true stories into the plot, supplying historical tidbits that will send readers to the internet to learn more. A natural for fans of Rhys Bowen's Molly Murphy, Victoria Thompson's Sarah Brandt, and Alyssa Maxwell's Emma Cross. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.
  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2020 January #1
    In 1896 New York, consulting detective Mary Handley seeks to take only cases that will not impinge on time with her nine-year-old daughter. However, when W. S. Gilbert, in New York to produce a musical, asks Mary to retrieve the manuscript of a stolen play and pay the ransom at a spot outside Brooklyn's Prospect Park, she agrees. But the drop goes wrong, and even her jujitsu skills don't help when a gunshot grazes her ear. When she comes to [a gunshot grazing her ear is enough to render her unconscious?], the manuscript and ransom money are gone, and her journalist husband Harper's body is in a nearby alley. Determined to find both the missing manuscript and her husband's killer, Mary draws on her personal connection to police commissioner Theodore Roosevelt to help gain entrée to Gilded Age society as well as to Broadway luminaries. Levy masterfully incorporates true stories into the plot, supplying historical tidbits that will send readers to the internet to learn more. A natural for fans of Rhys Bowen's Molly Murphy, Victoria Thompson's Sarah Brandt, and Alyssa Maxwell's Emma Cross. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Lawrence H. Levy is a highly regarded film and TV writer who is a Writers Guild Award winner and a two-time Emmy nominee. He has written for such hit TV shows as Family Ties, Saved by the Bell, Roseanne, and Seinfeld. This is his fourth novel in the Mary Handley Mystery series.

Subject: Roosevelt, Theodore, 1858-1919 > Fiction.
Women private investigators > Fiction.
Murder > Investigation > Fiction.
Husbands > Death > Fiction.
Upper class > Fiction.
New York (N.Y.). Police Department > Officials and employees > Fiction.
Brooklyn (New York, N.Y.) > Social life and customs > 19th century > Fiction.
Prospect Park (New York, N.Y.) > Fiction.
FICTION / Historical.
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Cozy.
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths.
Genre: Mystery fiction.
Historical fiction.
Detective and mystery fiction.

Additional Resources