Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 1 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Bagley Public Library HAR (Text) 33500013231402 New Checked out 12/15/2020
Gonvick LINK Site HAR (Text) 33500013231410 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 0593197682
  • ISBN: 0593098668
  • ISBN: 9780593098684
  • ISBN: 9780593197684
  • ISBN: 9780593098660
  • Physical Description: viii, 296 pages ; 24 cm
    print
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Berkley, 2020.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "Julie is missing, and the missing don't often return. But Elise knows Julie better than anyone, and she feels in her bones that her best friend is out there, and that one day she'll come back. She's right. Two years to the day that Julie went missing, she reappears with no memory of where she's been or what happened to her. Along with Molly and Mae, their two close friends from college, the women decide to reunite at the eccentric, remote Red Honey Inn. But the second Elise sees Julie, she knows something is wrong--she's emaciated, with sallow skin, chipped teeth and odd appetites. In so many ways, Julie seems to be the friend they all loved and lost. But in others, she seems to be a stranger. When bad weather traps them inside the hotel, tensions flare. Elise begins to hear scratching within the walls, to see the slither of shadows cast by nothing. And as the weekend unfurls, it becomes impossible to deny that the Julie who vanished two years ago is not the same Julie who came back. But then who--or what--is she?"--Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2020 February #2
    In this creepy debut, four college friends reunite when one of their own, Julie, disappears. Elise, the closest to Julie and the increasingly unreliable narrator, never truly believes Julie is dead. Two years later, Julie reappears on her front porch with no memory of what happened. The unnerved friends plan a girls' weekend at a remote mountain inn to celebrate—except Julie is not the same. She looks gaunt, feels cold to the touch, and has a ravenous appetite for raw meat. As the weekend progresses, things go from bad to worse both among the friends and throughout the hotel. People fall ill, blood drips from the vents, the rooms seem to shift, Elise sees a shadowy figure in dark corners, and Julie's behavior goes from odd to troubling to absolutely terrifying. Combining satisfying and extremely unsettling psychological suspense with just the right touch of supernatural horror and a compelling and thoughtful new adult story centered around the power, emotion, and limitations of female friendship, The Return is an intense read that will appeal to fans of Nic Joseph and Amy Lukavics. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.
  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2020 February #2
    In this creepy debut, four college friends reunite when one of their own, Julie, disappears. Elise, the closest to Julie and the increasingly unreliable narrator, never truly believes Julie is dead. Two years later, Julie reappears on her front porch with no memory of what happened. The unnerved friends plan a girls' weekend at a remote mountain inn to celebrate—except Julie is not the same. She looks gaunt, feels cold to the touch, and has a ravenous appetite for raw meat. As the weekend progresses, things go from bad to worse both among the friends and throughout the hotel. People fall ill, blood drips from the vents, the rooms seem to shift, Elise sees a shadowy figure in dark corners, and Julie's behavior goes from odd to troubling to absolutely terrifying. Combining satisfying and extremely unsettling psychological suspense with just the right touch of supernatural horror and a compelling and thoughtful new adult story centered around the power, emotion, and limitations of female friendship, The Return is an intense read that will appeal to fans of Nic Joseph and Amy Lukavics. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Rachel Harrison was born and raised in the weird state of New Jersey. She received her bachelor's in Writing for Film & Television from Emerson College. After graduating, she worked on TV game shows, in publishing, and for a big bank. She lives in Rochester, NY with her husband and their cat/overlord. This is her first novel.

Subject: Missing persons Fiction
Amnesiacs Fiction
Female friendship Fiction
Hotels Fiction
Genre: Thrillers (Fiction)
Paranormal fiction.
Horror fiction.
Suspense fiction.

Additional Resources