Catalog

We are carefully monitoring information about the coronavirus (COVID-19) and in effort to protect staff, customers and our communities, all locations will close for an undefined duration beginning Tuesday, March 17. We will not be charging fines during this period; please keep your materials at home until we reopen. For more information visit larl.org.

Record Details

Catalog Search



Braver than you think : around the world on the trip of my (mother's) life / Maggie Downs.

Downs, Maggie, (author.).

Available copies

  • 0 of 1 copy available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 0 of 1 copy available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

1 current hold with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
LARL Cataloging LARL74475 (Text) LARL74475 New On order -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781640092921
  • ISBN: 1640092927
  • Physical Description: pages cm
  • Edition: First hardcover edition.
  • Publisher: Berkeley, California : Counterpoint, 2020.

Content descriptions

Formatted Contents Note:
Love -- Death -- Life.
Summary, etc.:
"Braver Than You Think is the life-affirming story of how Downs, newly married and established in her career as a journalist, quits her job, sells her belongings, and embarks on the solo trip of a lifetime: Her mother's. Over the course of one year backpacking through seventeen countries - visiting all the places her mother, struck with early-onset Alzheimer's disease, cannot visit herself - Maggie faces some of the world's most exotic locales while confronting the slow loss of her mother and the close bond they shared. Interweaving travelogue with memories of her family, Braver Than You Think takes the reader hiking the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu, whitewater rafting down the Nile, volunteering at a monkey sanctuary in Bolivia, praying at an ashram in India, and fleeing the Arab Spring in Egypt. By embarking on a global journey, Downs embraces what it means to make every moment count - traveling around the globe and home again, losing a parent while discovering the world"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2020 April #1
    As her mother slipped into the last stages of Alzheimer's disease, Downs left her newspaper job to travel for the sake of living deliberately and passionately. She hoped to embody her mother's unrealized dreams; mostly, though, the trip was a way for her to do something when so little could be done to help. With her new husband's blessing, she left the U.S. South American adventures include hiking to Machu Picchu, volunteering (and sustaining monkey bites) in Bolivia, and sampling Argentina's rich food culture. From South Africa's Wild Coast, she travels to Egypt and survives a harrowing white-water rafting trip, then visits memorials to genocide in Rwanda. Later, as the Arab Spring erupts around her, she takes refuge in a yoga camp with friends. After leaving Africa, she pushes on to India,Thailand, and Vietnam. Every chapter is shot through with thoughts and memories of her mother, whose death forces Downs to decide whether to return home or not. Fans of Eat, Pray, Love (2006) and Wild (2012) may find this a satisfying next read.WOMEN FOCUS Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

MAGGIE DOWNS is an award-winning writer based in Palm Springs, California. Her work has appeared in The New York Times, The Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Palm Springs Life, and McSweeney’s and has been anthologized in The Lonely Planet Travel Anthology: True Stories from the World’s Best Writers and Best Women’s Travel Writing. Braver Than You Think is her first book. Find out more at maggiedowns.com.

Subject: Downs, Maggie > Travel.
Downs, Maggie > Family.
Voyages around the world.
Backpacking.
Alzheimer's disease > Patients > Family relationships.
Terminally ill parents > United States.
Mothers and daughters > United States.
Parent and adult child > United States.
Women authors > Biography.
Authors, American > 21st century > Biography.
Alzheimer's disease > Patients > Family relationships.
Authors, American.
Backpacking.
Families.
Mothers and daughters.
Parent and adult child.
Terminally ill parents.
Travel.
Voyages around the world.
Women authors.
United States.
Genre: Biographies.

Additional Resources