Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 7 of 77 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

A week in winter / Marcia Willett.

Willett, Marcia. (Author).
Image of item

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Karlstad LINK Site WIL (Text) 35500003142252 Main Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 0312287852 (hc) :
  • Physical Description: 342 p. ; 24 cm.
  • Edition: 1st U.S. ed.
  • Publisher: New York : Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin's Press, 2002, c2001.

Content descriptions

General Note: "First published in Great Britain by Headline Book Publishing"--T.p. verso.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Monthly Selections - #1 March 2002
    Willett, a popular contemporary women's fiction author in her native Britain, makes her U.S. debut with this tidy, well-written novel. The heroine of the story is Maudie Todhunter, a feisty and independent-minded widow who, finding it hard to keep up two homes, reluctantly decides to put her country estate up for sale. Moorgate, so named because it stands at the gates of the Scottish Moors, attracts many would-be purchasers: Maudie's wicked stepdaughter Selina; Rob Abbot, the building contractor who has painstakingly restored the old buildings; and Melissa Clayton, a young woman with a secret who discovers peace within Moorgate's walls. As Maudie decides what to do with Moorgate, the story moves between past and present, and our feisty heroine is startled to uncover lies and treachery as old family secrets come to light. Levity is provided in the guise of Maudie's companion, a giant English mastiff named Polonius. Fans of Rosamunde Pilcher and Maeve Binchy will definitely applaud the introduction of such an enjoyable writer. ((Reviewed March 1, 2002)) Copyright 2002 Booklist Reviews

Author Notes

Born in Somerset, in the west country of England, on the day the atom bomb was dropped on Hiroshima, Marcia Willett was the youngest of five girls. Her family was unconventional and musical, but Marcia chose to train as a ballet dancer. Unfortunately her body did not develop with the classical proportions demanded by the Royal Ballet, so she studied to be a ballet teacher. Her first husband was a naval officer in the submarine service, with whom she had a son, Charles, now married and training to be a clergyman. Her second husband, Rodney, himself a writer and broadcaster, encouraged Marcia to write novels. She has published several novels in England; A Week in Winter is the first to be published in the United States.

Subject: Farmhouses > England > Fiction.
House selling > Fiction.
Cornwall (England : County) > Fiction.
Genre: Domestic fiction.
Search Results Showing Item 7 of 77 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Additional Resources