Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The art of breaking things / Laura Sibson.

Sibson, Laura, author. (Author).
Image of item

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Moorhead Public Library Y SIB (Text) 33500013100813 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780451481115
  • ISBN: 0451481119
  • Physical Description: 390 pages ; 22 cm
  • Publisher: New York : Viking, [2019]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: Skye turns to her best friend Ben when she is forced to confront her abuser after her mother rekindles her relationship with a former boyfriend.
Art school is Skye's ticket out; all she has to do is survive her senior year, not get too drunk at parties, and be there for her little sister, Emma. Then her mom's ex-boyfriend slithers his way back into her family. They have no idea about the dark secrets about him -- and Skye never thought she would have to face him again. After years of hiding her past, she must protect her sister from the monster in their midst. -- adapted from jacket
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2019 April #2
    Skye is a talented artist who can't wait to attend art school after graduation. In the meantime, she loves making art, getting stoned, and partying with her friends. When Skye's mother's ex-boyfriend, Dan, a sleazeball in academic clothing, comes back into her world, Skye doesn't know what to do. Dan is demanding and critical, and his presence chafes against the damage he inflicted on Skye when she was 12. As a result, Skye feels the need to abandon her scholarship and shield her 12-year-old sister. Facing the truth she's suppressed since that night while camping, Skye is empowered and sheds the guilt she's carried for years. Sibson's beautiful debut runs the gamut of emotions, allowing her protagonist to fail and make bad choices without judgement, so that Skye can find the courage to positively use her voice. In this realistic, heartrending portrayal of the lasting harm caused by sexual abuse, Skye's memories are parsed out, giving her space to explore the conflicting emotions and questions they incur. Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson. Grades 9-12. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Laura Sibson worked for years as a career counselor for undergraduates before getting her MFA from the Vermont College of Fine Arts. When she's not writing, counseling, or drinking impossibly strong coffee, you can find her running miles around her home in Philadelphia, walking her dog, or ingesting pop culture (along with great takeout) with her family.

Subject: Sexually abused children > Fiction.
Mothers and daughters > Fiction.
Friendship > Fiction.
High school students > Fiction.
Young adult fiction.
Sexually abused children > Fiction.
Mothers and daughters > Fiction.
Friendship > Fiction.
Genre: Young adult fiction.

Additional Resources