Catalog

The catalog was upgraded on Sunday October 20th, 2019. Please report problems to your library.

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 3 of 3 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 3 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Climax Public Library Y BOE (Text) 33500013136395 New Available -
Fertile Public Library Y BOE (Text) 33500013136403 New Available -
Godel Memorial-Warren Library ya BOE (Text) 35500006223166 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781250298881
  • ISBN: 1250298881
  • Physical Description: 318 pages ; 22 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Tor Teen, 2019.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
Her skills ignored because of her gender, Rain disguises herself as a boy and joins a secret military rescue unit tasked with rescuing the High King, and soon learns she must awaken the dragons that guarded the land centuries before.
"If Rain weren't a girl, she would be respected as a Neshu combat master. Instead, her gender dooms her to a colorless future. When an army of nomads invades her kingdom, and a draft forces every household to send one man to fight, Rain takes her chance to seize the life she wants. Knowing she'll be killed if she's discovered, Rain purchases powder made from dragon magic that enables her to disguise herself as a boy. Then she hurries to the war camps, where she excels in her training--and wrestles with the voice that has taken shape inside her head. The voice of a dragon she never truly believed existed. As war looms and Rain is enlisted into an elite, secret unit tasked with rescuing the High King, she begins to realize this dragon tincture may hold the key to her kingdom's victory. For the dragons that once guarded her land have slumbered for centuries ... and someone must awaken them to fight once more"--Amazon.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2019 August #1
    "Being a girl is never quite enough" in the kingdom of Ylanda, where girls are raised to be wives and mothers while boys have the honor and glory of being warriors. Rain wants to be a warrior to win back the status her parents lost when Rain's twin brother, Storm, was left disabled after a childhood illness. When the kingdom's main barrier against nomad tribes, the Stonewall, is breached and war begins, Rain's father and brother must report for conscription. To save them both, Rain buys dragon magic, dresses in disguise, and signs up for the high king's army. But the magic has its price: while it does help Rain pass as a boy, she also begins to hear a voice calling her to wake the ancient, sleeping dragons. On her journey she finds friends, enemies, and love, and will have to make sacrifices to save herself, her family, and the kingdom. Boehme's debut, which borrows from Twelfth Night, is an adventure perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce. A good fit for any collection. Grades 8-10. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.
  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2019 August #1
    "Being a girl is never quite enough" in the kingdom of Ylanda, where girls are raised to be wives and mothers while boys have the honor and glory of being warriors. Rain wants to be a warrior to win back the status her parents lost when Rain's twin brother, Storm, was left disabled after a childhood illness. When the kingdom's main barrier against nomad tribes, the Stonewall, is breached and war begins, Rain's father and brother must report for conscription. To save them both, Rain buys dragon magic, dresses in disguise, and signs up for the high king's army. But the magic has its price: while it does help Rain pass as a boy, she also begins to hear a voice calling her to wake the ancient, sleeping dragons. On her journey she finds friends, enemies, and love, and will have to make sacrifices to save herself, her family, and the kingdom. Boehme's debut, which borrows from Twelfth Night, is an adventure perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce. A good fit for any collection. Grades 8-10. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

JILLIAN BOEHME is known to the online writing community as Authoress, hostess of Miss Snark’s First Victim, a blog for aspiring authors. In real life, she holds a degree in Music Education, sings with the Nashville Symphony Chorus, and homeschools her remaining youngster-at-home. She’s still crazy in love with her husband of more than thirty years and is happy to be surrounded by family and friends amid the rolling knolls of Middle Tennessee. Stormrise is Boehme's debut novel.

Subject: Dragons > Juvenile fiction.
Sex role > Juvenile fiction.
Magic > Juvenile fiction.
Young adult fiction.
Dragons > Fiction.
Sex role > Fiction.
Adventure and adventurers > Fiction.
Fantasy.
Genre: Action and adventure fiction.
Fantasy fiction.

Additional Resources