Catalog

We are carefully monitoring information about the coronavirus (COVID-19) and in effort to protect staff, customers and our communities, all locations will close for an undefined duration beginning Tuesday, March 17. We will not be charging fines during this period; please keep your materials at home until we reopen. For more information visit larl.org.

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 1 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Mahnomen Public Library Y MCG (Text) 33500013193115 New In transit -
McIntosh Public Library Y MCG (Text) 33500013193123 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780062463357
  • ISBN: 0062463357
  • Physical Description: 338 pages ; 22 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York, NY : Harperteen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2020]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
From the critically acclaimed author of Say What You Will and A Step Toward Falling comes a deeply emotional new novel, perfect for fans of Five Feet Apart and The Fault in Our Stars. David Scheinman is the popular president of his senior class, battling cystic fibrosis. Jamie Turner is a quiet sophomore, struggling with depression. The pair soon realizes that they're able to be more themselves with each other than they can be with anyone else, and their unlikely friendship starts to turn into something so much more. But neither Jamie nor David can bring themselves to reveal the secrets that weigh most heavily on their hearts--and their time for honesty may be running out.-- Publisher's description.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2019 December #1
    *Starred Review* Jamie is 15, reserved, and suffering from severe depression, and David is senior-class president, extremely popular, and manages to keep his cystic fibrosis under the radar. Their paths cross when David is hospitalized and Jamie visits him as part of her volunteer work. The two develop a friendship over origami, and David opens up about his condition. Jamie also has secrets she is reluctant to reveal. They begin to correspond via email and text, and Jamie, to her alarm, begins to develop stronger feelings for David, which he seems to be reciprocating. Things take a downward turn with a medical emergency, and both Jamie and David must reevaluate their friendship. They narrate their story in alternating first-person passages, and the shifting perspectives add nice depth to both characters. McGovern skillfully imbues her characters with realistic voices; her teenagers sound like real teenagers and less like how some authors want teenagers to sound. Even her secondary characters—from David's attention-seeking younger sister, Eileen, to Jamie's stressed-out single mother, who wants to spare Jamie from heartbreak—have rich, dynamic voices. With a plot that moves swiftly, ratcheting up the tension until the crisis, this brilliant, nuanced, and hopeful title will have wide appeal, particularly from fans of authors such as John Green or Sarah Dessen. Grades 9-12. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Subject: Cystic fibrosis > Juvenile fiction.
Cystic fibrosis > Fiction.
Depression, Mental > Fiction.
Teenagers > Fiction.
Honesty > Fiction.
Dating (Social customs) > Fiction.
Young adult fiction.
Cystic fibrosis > Fiction.
People with disabilities > Fiction.
Depression, Mental > Fiction.
Love > Fiction.

Additional Resources