Catalog

Curbside Pick-Up is available in all locations and book drops are open.

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 0 of 3 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 0 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

1 current hold with 3 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Detroit Lakes Public Library J AND (Text) 33500013220306 New Checked out 06/27/2020
Moorhead Public Library J AND (Text) 33500013220314 New Checked out 07/07/2020
Warroad Public Library j AND (Text) 35500006274599 Main On holds shelf -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781338580839
  • ISBN: 1338580833
  • Physical Description: 286 pages : map ; 22 cm
  • Edition: First US edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Scholastic Press, 2020.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
Found abandoned in a bear cave as a baby, and cursed with unusual size and strength, twelve-year-old Yanka the bear has never felt she belonged in the small village where she grew up; the Snow Forest seems to call to her and when she wakes up one day with her legs transformed into bear legs she flees the village, and embarks on a dangerous journey to uncover clues to her mysterious origin and identity.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2019 December #1
    *Starred Review* When 12-year-old Yanka, nicknamed "the Bear" for her size and strength, wakes up with actual bear legs, her initial reaction is panic, but after learning about the generational curse in her family, she becomes determined to learn more about her ancestry. Yanka knows she was adopted—discovered in a bear's cave as a baby—but other than a few shards of the story, her past is a mystery. She wants to know what secrets lie in the forbidden Snow Forest, aside from the cursed lime tree and the house with chicken legs that guides the dead. When the forest creatures beckon to her, Yanka—along with her sassy weasel sidekick, Mousetrap, and new friend Yuri the elk—embarks on a journey of self-discovery that soon turns into a layered quest to save everyone Yanka loves from a ferocious and unforgiving dragon. Along the way, Yanka is helped by a colorful cast of human and animal friends, and her adventures in the present are interwoven with folk stories from her childhood, which might contain more truth than tale. Readers who enjoyed Gregory Maguire's Egg and Spoon (2014), Rudyard Kipling's The Jungle Book, the Brothers Grimm, or Baba Yaga lore will revel in this new fairy tale that borrows from the old to make something new. Grades 3-6. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Sophie Anderson grew up in Swansea, studied at Liverpool University, and has worked as a geologist and science teacher. She currently lives in England's Lake District with her husband and enjoys the freedom of homeschooling her three children, walking, canoeing, and daydreaming. She loves to write stories inspired by different folklores, cultures, and landscapes. The House with Chicken Legs was her first novel.

Subject: Identity (Psychology) > Juvenile fiction.
Belonging (Social psychology) > Juvenile fiction.
Bears > Juvenile fiction.
Friendship > Juvenile fiction.
Families > Juvenile fiction.
Voyages and travels > Juvenile fiction.
Adventure stories.
Genre: Action and adventure fiction.

Additional Resources