Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 2 of 3 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 3 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Bagley Public Library J REY (Text) 33500013246152 New Available -
Barnesville Public Library J REY (Text) 33500013246160 New Checked out 08/24/2020
Warroad Public Library j REY (Text) 35500006278400 Main Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781368051835
  • ISBN: 1368051839
  • Physical Description: pages cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Disney Hyperion, 2020.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
Cursed by an old carnival game, sixth-grader Rex Dexter uses his new ability to communicate with dead animals to investigate the mysterious deaths of endangered zoo animals.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2020 February #2
    As the name of the town suggests, life in Middlington Falls is unremarkable. That is, until Rex Dexter tangles with a wish-granting grim reaper, in the form of a vintage arcade game. Unfortunately, Rex loses the game, and instead of walking away with a real live pet (please be a chocolate Lab!), he is cursed with the ability to see and speak to dead animals—including his rooster "practice pet," which just got flattened in the parking lot. Narrating with unchecked confidence and sarcasm, Rex comes to understand that the incorporeal zoo animals now appearing in his bedroom—a charred rhino, a drowned gorilla, a squashed elephant, and a zapped panda—need his help to solve the mystery of their untimely deaths. Picture-book author Reynolds brings his knack for off-kilter comedy to his first novel in a gleefully entertaining fashion. While Rex recklessly leads with self-ascribed "charm," he is balanced by his intelligent, good-natured friend Darvish. The zany animal cast adds to the fun of this series starter, perfect for fans of Stuart Gibbs' FunJungle mysteries. Grades 3-6. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.
  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2020 February #2
    As the name of the town suggests, life in Middlington Falls is unremarkable. That is, until Rex Dexter tangles with a wish-granting grim reaper, in the form of a vintage arcade game. Unfortunately, Rex loses the game, and instead of walking away with a real live pet (please be a chocolate Lab!), he is cursed with the ability to see and speak to dead animals—including his rooster "practice pet," which just got flattened in the parking lot. Narrating with unchecked confidence and sarcasm, Rex comes to understand that the incorporeal zoo animals now appearing in his bedroom—a charred rhino, a drowned gorilla, a squashed elephant, and a zapped panda—need his help to solve the mystery of their untimely deaths. Picture-book author Reynolds brings his knack for off-kilter comedy to his first novel in a gleefully entertaining fashion. While Rex recklessly leads with self-ascribed "charm," he is balanced by his intelligent, good-natured friend Darvish. The zany animal cast adds to the fun of this series starter, perfect for fans of Stuart Gibbs' FunJungle mysteries. Grades 3-6. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Aaron Reynolds is a New York Times best-selling author and has written many highly acclaimed books for kids, including DUDE!, Creepy Pair of Underwear, Caveboy Dave, and the Caldecott Honor-winning Creepy Carrots. Aaron lives in Chicago with his wife, two kids, four cats, and anywhere between zero and ten goldfish, depending on the day.

Subject: Ghosts > Fiction.
Zoo animals > Fiction.
Endangered species > Fiction.
Blessing and cursing > Fiction.
Schools > Fiction.
Mystery and detective stories.

Additional Resources