Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 2 of 3 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 3 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Fertile Public Library J BIR (Text) 33500013291869 New Available -
Fosston Public Library J BIR (Text) 33500013291877 New Checked out 10/26/2020
Thief River Falls Public Library j BIR (Text) 35500006303836 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 1250247756
  • ISBN: 9781250247759
  • Physical Description: 311 pages ; 22 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York, NY : Feiwel and Friends, 2020.

Content descriptions

General Note:
Title page has: Th3 brav5. Cover has: The brave.
Summary, etc.:
Collin can't help himself--he has a unique condition that leads him to count every letter spoken to him. It's a quirk that makes him a prime target for bullies and a continual frustration to the adults around him, including his father. When Collin is asked to leave yet another school, his dad decides to send him to live in Minnesota with the mother he's never met. She is Ojibwe and lives on a reservation. Collin arrives in Duluth with his loyal dog, Seven, and quickly finds his mom and his new home to be warm, welcoming, and accepting of his condition. Collin's quirk is matched by that of his neighbor, Orenda, a girl who lives mostly in her treehouse and believes she is turning into a butterfly. With Orenda's help, Collin works hard to overcome his challenges. His real test comes when he must step up for his new friend and trust his new family.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2020 June #1
    *Starred Review* Sent to live on a reservation with his estranged mother after his OCD gets him into hot water at school, Collin is faced with starting over again in Bird's beautifully written debut. Collin's condition, a rare iteration of OCD, compels him to count and announce the number of letters someone speaks when talking to him, which makes fitting in anywhere a challenge. Yet, he finds unexpected acceptance from the Ojibwe community with whom he now lives. There he meets Orenda, a girl with a secret and an unusual perspective of the world, with whom he experiences first love. Meanwhile, Collin tries new strategies to manage the bullies who tease him and gathers wisdom from some unlikely sources. This stunning novel features a protagonist whose candor readers will treasure, and Collin's precocious and perceptive narration adds realism to the characters who populate his new life. Bird also enriches the narrative with seemingly magical elements sprinkled throughout the novel. Endearingly earnest and with a refusal to shy away from the tough parts of life, up to and including death, this fresh and imaginative story has touches of Bridge to Terabithia and is perfect for fans of Wendy Mass' A Mango-­Shaped Space (2003) and Eric Gansworth's Give Me Some Truth (2018). Bird, himself of Ojibwe descent, has written an exceptional #OwnVoices novel not to be overlooked. Grades 5-8. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

James Bird is a screenwriter and director at the independent film company, Zombot Pictures; his films include We Are Boats and Honeyglue. A California native of Ojibwe descent, he now lives in Swampscott, Massachusetts with his wife, the author and actor Adriana Mather, and their son. The Brave is his debut novel.

Subject: Mothers and sons > Juvenile fiction.
Families > Juvenile fiction.
Ojibwa Indians > Juvenile fiction.
Compulsive behavior > Juvenile fiction.
Friendship > Juvenile fiction.
Minnesota > Juvenile fiction.
Young adult fiction.

Additional Resources