Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 1 of 3 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 3 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Fosston Public Library Y HAY (Text) 33500013310529 New Checked out 01/26/2021
Hawley Public Library Y HAY (Text) 33500013310537 New Available -
Roseau Public Library ya HAY (Text) 35500006329070 New Checked out 01/26/2021

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781534437036
  • ISBN: 1534437037
  • Physical Description: 298 pages ; 22 cm
  • Edition: First Simon Pulse hardcover edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Simon Pulse, 2020.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
To save her sisters from a spell that has forced them to be Without, Princess Jane of Ever must work with Reagan, the witch who set the curse on her family.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2020 May #2
    In the land of Ever, it's been witches versus royals for as long as most living people can remember. They are on opposite sides of the moat and opposite sides of an age-old war that stemmed from the kidnapping of a princess. Reagan, a young witch, cast a terrible spell five years ago, cursing each of the five royal daughters with an inability to do something vital: eat, sleep, hope, love, and remember. Jane is the eldest of those five princesses, and she has not eaten in those five years. As each girl tells her story in alternating chapters, readers find out how Ever became the way it is, and what each side is really fighting for. Haydu's world building is slightly piecemeal, doled out a chapter at a time, and the pace can be slow because of it. The story, which opens with a trigger warning for sexual assault and eating disorders, has qualities of both a classic fairy tale and contemporary retellings, making it ideal for fans of Jennifer Donnelly's Stepsister (2019). Grades 9-12. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Corey Ann Haydu is the author of OCD Love Story, Rules for Stealing Stars, Eventown, and several other critically acclaimed young adult and children&;s novels. She currently teaches at the MFA Writing for Children program at Vermont College of Fine Arts and lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her husband and daughter. Learn more at CoreyAnnHaydu.com.

Subject: Fairy tales.
Princesses > Fiction.
Witches > Fiction.
Magic > Fiction.
Blessing and cursing > Fiction.

Additional Resources