Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 2 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

The wild inside / Jamey Bradbury.

Bradbury, Jamey, author. (Author).
Image of item

Available copies

  • 3 of 3 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

1 current hold with 3 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Detroit Lakes Public Library BRA (Text) 33500012660999 Main Available -
Moorhead Public Library BRA (Text) 33500012661005 Main Available -
Godel Memorial-Warren Library BRA (Text) 35500006021693 Main Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780062741998
  • ISBN: 0062741993
  • ISBN: 9780062742001
  • ISBN: 0062742000
  • Physical Description: 290 pages ; 24 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York, NY : William Morrow, [2018]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "The Wild Inside is an unusual love story and a creepy horror novel -- think of the Brontë sisters and Stephen King."--John Irving ... A promising talent makes her electrifying debut with this unforgettable novel, set in the Alaskan wilderness, that is a fusion of psychological thriller and coming-of-age tale in the vein of Jennifer McMahon, Chris Bohjalian, and Mary Kubica -- A natural born trapper and hunter raised in the Alaskan wilderness, Tracy Petrikoff spends her days tracking animals and running with her dogs in the remote forests surrounding her family's home. Though she feels safe in this untamed land, Tracy still follows her late mother's rules: Never Lose Sight of the House. Never Come Home with Dirty Hands. And, above all else, Never Make a Person Bleed. But these precautions aren't enough to protect Tracy when a stranger attacks her in the woods and knocks her unconscious. The next day, she glimpses an eerily familiar man emerge from the tree line, gravely injured from a vicious knife wound--a wound from a hunting knife similar to the one she carries in her pocket. Was this the man who attacked her and did she almost kill him? With her memories of the events jumbled, Tracy can't be sure. Helping her father cope with her mother's death and prepare for the approaching Iditarod, she doesn't have time to think about what she may have done. Then a mysterious wanderer appears, looking for a job. Tracy senses that Jesse Goodwin is hiding something, but she can't warn her father without explaining about the attack--or why she's kept it to herself. It soon becomes clear that something dangerous is going on. the way Jesse has wormed his way into the family. the threatening face of the stranger in a crowd. the boot-prints she finds at the forest's edge. Her family is in trouble. Will uncovering the truth protect them--or is the threat closer than Tracy suspects?"-- Provided by publisher.
"An unforgettable debut novel set in the Alaskan wilderness that is part thriller, part coming-of-age, in the vein of Jennifer McMahon or Chris Bohjalian"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2018 January #1
    Tracy lives to hunt, sometimes spending days in the Alaska wilderness with nothing but her wits and her knife. Ever since her mother died, her father has kept her on a tight leash, especially when it comes to training for the upcoming Iditarod. Tracy's preternatural drive to hunt is insatiable, however, so she sneaks out regularly, which is where she is when the stranger attacks her. She fights back, waking up with a bruised head and bloody hands, but she's convinced he'll return to finish what he started. When her father takes on a hired hand, Tracy's careful secrets start to unravel, and she discovers disturbing truths about her desperate need to hunt. Though the pacing can be haphazard and Tracy's folksy, first-person narration doesn't always ring true, debut author Bradbury cultivates vivid atmosphere with visceral action and a dynamic cast of characters. Tracy's unsettling compulsion for hunting takes a magic-realist turn early on, which might disappoint fans of straightforward survival thrillers, but patient readers who like earthy, genre-blending, coming-of-age stories should be pleased. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Subject: Fathers and daughters > Fiction.
Wilderness areas > Fiction.
Alaska > Fiction.
FICTION > Literary.
FICTION > Coming of Age.
Fathers and daughters.
Wilderness areas
Genre: Fiction.
Psychological fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Bildungsromans.
Psychological fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Suspense fiction.
Bildungsromans.
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 2 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Additional Resources