Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 2 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Available copies

  • 1 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Breckenridge Public Library RIM (Text) 33500012671756 Main Available -
Greenbush Public Library RIM (Text) 35500006025199 Main Checked out 02/28/2020

Record details

  • ISBN: 1525820842
  • ISBN: 9781525820847
  • Physical Description: 379 pages : 25 cm
    print
  • Publisher: Toronto, ON : Graydon House, [2018]

Content descriptions

General Note: Includes reader's guide with a note from the author and questions for book club discussion.
Summary, etc.: As children, Lexie and Annie were incredibly close. Bonded by the death of their beloved father, they weathered the storms of life together. When Lexie leaves home to follow her dream, Annie is forced to turn to her leather-bound journal as the only place she can confide her deepest secrets and fears. As adults, sisters Lexie and Annie could not be more different. Lexie is a successful doctor and happily engaged. Annie is an addict-- a thief, a liar and unable to remain clean. When Annie's newborn baby is in danger of being placed in foster care, Annie picks up the phone to beg her sister for help. Will Lexie agree to take in her young niece? And how will Annie survive, losing the only thing in her life worth living for?
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2018 March #2
    The 2 a.m. phone call Lexie receives may be the first she's gotten in two years, but it's only the most recent in a series of requests to be rescued that her sister, Annie, has made over the years. Annie's drug habit has had her asking for Lexie's help before, but this time, Annie's pregnant, and unless she can get clean, she risks jail time as well as custody of her baby. Lexie can't help herself from running to Annie's side, sure she knows what's best, only to realize she may not be what Annie needs at all. Lexie's narration illustrates her struggle with codependence and questions how society treats drug addicts in general and pregnant addicts in particular. Annie tells her story through excerpts from her journal, attempting to understand the events that brought her to her current situation. The honest language elicits a range of emotions in the best ways. Rimmer's (A Mother's Confession, 2016) fifth novel is guaranteed to appeal to fans of JoJo Moyes, Liza Palmer, and anyone who loves to read with hankie in hand. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Subject: Sisters Fiction
Women physicians Fiction
Drug addicts Fiction
Pregnancy Fiction
Newborn infants Care Fiction
Diaries Authorship Fiction
Family secrets Fiction
Australian fiction
Genre: Novels.
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 2 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Additional Resources