Catalog

We are carefully monitoring information about the coronavirus (COVID-19) and in effort to protect staff, customers and our communities, all locations will close for an undefined duration beginning Tuesday, March 17. We will not be charging fines during this period; please keep your materials at home until we reopen. For more information visit larl.org.

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780399589393 (electronic bk)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource
    remote
    electronic resource
    electronic
  • Publisher: 2017.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: A sly debut story collection that conjures the experience of adolescence through the eyes of Chinese American girls growing up in New York City—for readers of Zadie Smith, Helen Oyeyemi, and Junot DíazWinner of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize • Winner of the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Debut Fiction • Finalist for the New York Public Library's Young Lions Fiction AwardNAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New YorkerNPRO: The Oprah MagazineThe GuardianEsquireNew York • BuzzFeedA fresh new voice emerges with the arrival of Sour Heart, establishing Jenny Zhang as a frank and subversive interpreter of the immigrant experience in America. Her stories cut across generations and continents, moving from the fraught halls of a public school in Flushing, Queens, to the tumultuous streets of Shanghai, China, during the Cultural Revolution of the 1960s. In the absence of grown-ups, latchkey kids experiment on each other until one day the experiments turn violent; an overbearing mother abandons her artistic aspirations to come to America but relives her glory days through karaoke; and a shy loner struggles to master English so she can speak to God. Narrated by the daughters of Chinese immigrants who fled imperiled lives as artists back home only to struggle to stay afloat—dumpster diving for food and scamming Atlantic City casino buses to make a buck—these seven stories showcase Zhang's compassion, moral courage, and a perverse sense of humor reminiscent of Portnoy's Complaint. A darkly funny and intimate rendering of girlhood, Sour Heart examines what it means to belong to a family, to find your home, leave it, reject it, and return again. Praise for Sour Heart"[Jenny Zhang's] coming-of-age tales are coarse and funny, sweet and sour, told in language that's rough-hewn yet pulsating with energy."—USA Today"One of the knockout fiction debuts of the year."—New York "Compelling writing about what it means to be a teenager . . . It's brilliant, it's dark, but it's also humorous and filled with love."—Isaac Fitzgerald, Today "[A] combustible collection . . . in a class of its own."—Booklist (starred review) "Gorgeous and grotesque . . . [a] tremendous debut."—Slate
Reproduction Note:
Electronic reproduction. New York : Lenny, 2017. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 5261 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB).
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2017 July #1
    *Starred Review* The narrators of Zhang's finely wrought debut collection are Chinese American girls and young women who pass through one another's classrooms, homes, and full-to-bursting apartments in New York City boroughs. Zhang, author of the poetry collection Dear Jenny, We Are All Find (2012), lets these daughters of scholars and artists, who in the 1990s take America up on its many slow-to-be-delivered promises, be gross and unkind, and swear exquisitely. They are deeply loved, and fear true terrors, like school bullies; their parents' high expectations for their futures; and the horrors, somewhat abstract to them, that their families have endured. Stacey, whose grandmother requires constant closeness during her visits to the U.S., realizes "I was old enough to understand how one of trauma's many possible effects was to make the traumatized person insufferable." Christina, who shares with her mother a love for only the sourest fruits, narrates the first story, in which she is on the cusp of being sent back to relatives in Shanghai so that her parents can get their life in better order, and the last, where she is older and maybe finally accepting the phantom-limb feeling that is the immigrant's inheritance. Zhang's insightful, combustible collection is in a class of its own. Copyright 2017 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Jenny Zhang is a poet and writer living in New York City.

Subject: Short Stories
Literature
Fiction
Genre: Electronic books.
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1 Preferred library: Lake Agassiz Regional Library?

Additional Resources