Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The Irishman's daughter / V.S. Alexander.

Alexander, V. S., author. (Author).
Image of item

Available copies

  • 2 of 3 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 3 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Fosston Public Library ALE (Text) 33500013017785 New Checked out 09/10/2019
Hawley Public Library ALE (Text) 33500013017777 New Available -
Greenbush Public Library ALE (Text) 35500006141541 Main Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781496712295
  • ISBN: 1496712293
  • Physical Description: 406 pages ; 21 cm
  • Publisher: New York, NY : Kensington Books, [2019]

Content descriptions

General Note: Includes a reading group guide and discussion questions.
Summary, etc.: "Ireland, 1845. To Briana Walsh, no place on earth is more beautiful than Carrowteige, County Mayo, with its sloping fields and rocky cliffs perched above the wild Atlantic. The small farms that surround the centuries-old Lear House are managed by her father, agent to the wealthy, reckless Sir Thomas Blakely. Tenant farmers sell the oats and rye they grow to pay rent to Sir Thomas, surviving on the potatoes that flourish in the remaining scraps of land. But when the potato crop falls prey to a devastating blight, families Briana has known all her life are left with no food, no resources, and no mercy from the English landowner, who seems indifferent to everything except profit. Rory Caulfield, the hard-working young farmer Briana hopes to marry, shares the locals' despair--and their anger. There's talk of violent reprisals against the callous gentry and their agents. Briana's studious older sister, Lucinda, dreams of a future far beyond Mayo. But even as hunger and disease settle over the country, killing and displacing millions, Briana knows she must find a way to guide her family through one of Ireland's darkest hours--toward hope, love, and a new beginning"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2019 February #2
    Lear House, in a small village in County Mayo, has been an idyllic place for Briana Walsh to grow up. Her father helps manage the fields around Lear House, supervising the tenant farmers growing oats, potatoes, and rye for a wealthy English landowner. Sir Thomas Blakely is usually a reasonable man, but when a potato blight decimates the area, the Walsh family is forced to make a series of difficult choices. With the status of Lear House in jeopardy, Briana, her family, and the tenants of Lear House have never felt more unsure about their futures. Alexander (The Taster, 2018) immerses readers in 1840s Ireland with characteristic expertise, blending fact with fiction in this compelling and engrossing novel. Fans of Lucinda Riley and Paulette Jiles will appreciate Alexander's eye for detail and keen sense of place, which allow the blighted fields and family homestead to loom large. The Irishman's Daughter skillfully blends family ties with the horrors of a starving country and the hopefulness of young love. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

V.S. Alexander is an ardent student of history with a strong interest in music and the visual arts. Some of V.S.’s writing influences include Shirley Jackson, Oscar Wilde, Daphne du Maurier, or any work by the exquisite Brontë sisters. V.S. lives in Florida and is at work on a new historical novel for Kensington.

Subject: Ireland > History > Famine, 1845-1852 > Fiction.
Man-woman relationships > Fiction.
Gentry > Fiction.
Tenant farmers > Fiction.
Ireland > History > Fiction.
Genre: Historical fiction.
Historical fiction.
Romance fiction.
Historical fiction.

Additional Resources