Record Details

Catalog Search

In an absent dream. #4 / Seanan McGuire.

McGuire, Seanan, author. (Author).
Image of item

Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Ada Public Library SF MCG (Text) 33500012837928 New Available -
Breckenridge Public Library SF MCG (Text) 33500012837910 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780765399298
  • ISBN: 0765399296
  • Physical Description: 204 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm.
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : A Tom Doherty Associates Book, 2019.

Content descriptions

General Note: "A Tom Doherty Associates Book."
Summary, etc.: "Every Heart a Doorway racked up comparisons to C. S. Lewis and Lewis Carroll, and the Wayward Children series has delighted and mesmerized readers. This fourth entry tells the origin story of Lundy, a very serious young girl who would rather study and dream than become a respectable housewife and live up to the expectations of the world around her. As well she should. When she finds a doorway to a world founded on logic and reason, riddles and lies, she thinks she's found her paradise. Alas, everything costs at the goblin market, and when her time there is drawing to a close, she makes the kind of bargain that never plays out well. For anyone . . ."-- Provided by publisher.

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2018 December #1
    In this installment of McGuire's Wayward Children series (after Beneath the Sugar Sky, 2018), readers follow the very serious Lundy, daughter of the school principal, through an impossible door to the Goblin Market. The market has rules for everything, which appeals to Lundy's sense of order. It is also one of the few worlds where a person can pass back and forth, which she does. In the market, she has adventures, makes friends and secures a chosen family, and learns the rules. Back in her world, she knows the rules and makes different promises to her family. In the way of fairy tales, bargains don't generally work quite as one expects, so when Lundy makes a particular bargain in a desperate situation, nothing turns out the way she wants; every promise she makes has consequences, and they can easily be contradictory. This is a lovely installment of the series, with pitch-perfect fairy-tale logic—the series as a whole has wonderful, internally consistent world building—and characters, no matter how far in the background, with complexity and depth. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

SEANAN McGUIRE is the author of the Wayward Children series, beginning with the Hugo, Nebula, Alex, and Locus Award-winning Every Heart a Doorway, the October Daye urban fantasy series, the InCryptid series, and other works. She also writes darker fiction as Mira Grant. Seanan lives in Seattle with her cats, a vast collection of creepy dolls, horror movies, and sufficient books to qualify her as a fire hazard. She was the winner of the 2010 John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, and in 2013 she became the first person ever to appear five times on the same Hugo ballot.

Subject: FICTION / Fantasy / Contemporary.
FICTION / Fantasy / Dark Fantasy.
FICTION / Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology.
Genre: Fantasy fiction.
Fantasy fiction.

Additional Resources