Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



In the dark. #2 / Cara Hunter.

Hunter, Cara, author. (Author).
Image of item

Available copies

  • 1 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Detroit Lakes Public Library HUN (Text) 33500013013073 New Checked out 06/04/2019
Moorhead Public Library HUN (Text) 33500013013065 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780143131069
  • ISBN: 0143131060
  • Physical Description: 384 pages ; 20 cm
  • Publisher: New York : Penguin Books, 2019.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "From internationally bestselling author Cara Hunter, a riveting suspense novel about the shocking secrets revealed when a woman is discovered held captive behind a basement wall--and no one is who they appear to be. Do you know what they're hiding in the house next door? A woman and child are found locked in a basement, barely alive, and unidentifiable: the woman can't speak, there are no missing persons reports that match their profile, and the confused, elderly man who owns the house claims he has never seen them before. The inhabitants of the quiet street are in shock--how could this happen right under their noses? But Detective Inspector Adam Fawley knows nothing is impossible. And no one is as innocent as they seem. As the police grow desperate for a lead, Fawley stumbles across a breakthrough, a link to a case he worked years before about another young woman and child gone missing, never solved. When he realizes the missing woman's house is directly adjacent to the house in this case, he thinks he might have found the connection that could bring justice for both women. But there's something not quite right about the little boy from the basement, and the truth will send shockwaves through the force that Fawley never could have anticipated. A deeply unsettling, heart-stopping mystery of long-buried secrets and the monsters who hide in plain sight, In the Dark is the second gripping novel featuring DI Adam Fawley"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2018 December #1
    Hunter's second Adam Fawley procedural—after Close to Home (2018)—is a tense exploration of manipulation and betrayal. Workmen renovating a semidetached home in a transitioning Oxford, England, neighborhood find a starving woman and a small boy imprisoned in the adjoining home's basement. The homeowner, William Harper, has dementia and angrily denies knowing about the basement prison. The traumatized victim refuses to speak to detectives or see her son. Relying on physical evidence, DI Adam Fawley and his CID team piece together a horrifying narrative: the toddler is linked by DNA to Harper, whose DNA was also found on a mattress in the basement room. Their tidy theory, however, becomes complicated when the body of missing journalist, Hannah Gardiner, is found under Harper's shed. Attempting to quiet doubts about the elderly suspect's ability to kidnap and bury Hannah without witnesses, Fawley's team digs into Hannah's husband's and nanny's accounts of her final days. A solid psychological thriller with carefully developed characters and disturbing, cleverly masked revelations that will appeal to fans of Tana French and Sophie Hannah's procedurals. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Cara Hunter lives and works in Oxford. She also studied for a degree and PhD in English literature at Oxford University.

Subject: FICTION > Suspense.
FICTION > Mystery & Detective > Police Procedural.
Secrecy > Fiction.
Police > England > Oxford > Fiction.
Missing persons > Investigation > Fiction.
Detective and mystery stories.
SUSPENSE.
Genre: Suspense fiction.
Mystery fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Detective and mystery fiction.

Additional Resources