Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The perfect fraud / Ellen LaCorte.

LaCorte, Ellen, author. (Author).
Image of item

Available copies

  • 1 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Crookston Public Library LAC (Text) 33500013087341 New Checked out 10/31/2019
Hawley Public Library LAC (Text) 33500013087358 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780062906076
  • ISBN: 0062906070
  • Physical Description: 292 pages ; 24 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2019]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "Motherhood is tough. But then, so is daughterhood. When we first meet Claire, she's living in Sedona, Arizona with her boyfriend Cal and ducking calls from her mother. Her mom is a world class psychic on the East Coast and Claire doesn't want her to discover the truth. Claire works in the family business and calls herself a psychic, but she doesn't really have "the gift" and hasn't for a long time. She's a fraud. Meanwhile, on the other side of the country, Rena, a young mother, has family issues of her own. She's divorced and her four-year-old daughter, Stephanie, suffers from mysterious, seemingly incurable stomach problems. No matter how many specialists Rena drags her to, no matter how many mommy-blog posts she makes about her child's health issues, trying to get help and support from her online community, Stephanie only gets sicker. When Claire and Rena meet by chance on an airplane, their carefully constructed lives begin to explode. Can these two women help each other and can they help Stephanie before it's too late?-- Publisher's description.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2019 May #1
    Rena's little girl is very sick, and her doctors aren't finding the answers. Claire is a fraudulent psychic, hiding the truth from her clients and her legitimately psychic mother. When the two women meet on an airplane, both of their carefully constructed worlds begin to unravel. Told in two alternating perspectives, with one unreliable narrator, LaCorte's debut novel combines a darkly twisted plot with excellent character building, and the eerily realistic setting nicely supports the haunting narrative. This is psychological suspense with a gut-clenching finale, perfect for readers of Gillian Flynn and Brandon Massey. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Subject: Mothers and daughters > Fiction.
Sick children > Fiction.
Women psychics > Fiction.
Female friendship > Fiction.
FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense.
FICTION / Thrillers / Psychological.
FICTION / Women.
Genre: Suspense fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Psychological fiction.

Additional Resources