Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Black souls / Gioacchino Criaco ; translated from the Italian by Hillary Gulley.

Criaco, Gioacchino, 1965- author. (Author). Gulley, Hillary, translator. (Added Author).
Image of item

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at LARL/NWRL Consortium. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Moorhead Public Library CRI (Text) 33500013049572 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781616959975
  • ISBN: 1616959975
  • Physical Description: 271 pages ; 22 cm
  • Publisher: New York, NY : Soho Crime, 2019.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "In the remote Aspromonte Mountains in southern Calabria, Italy, three best friends embark on a life of crime in order to raise themselves up out of the poverty of their childhoods and the suffering of their parents. Brainy Luciano, the behind-the-scenes schemer, was orphaned as a little boy when the local mob boss had his postman father executed. Lazy, jovial Luigi has learned that there's no point in following the rules, since there is no path to riches for poor boys. And completing the triumvirate is the nameless narrator, from whose black soul comes the inspiration and energy for each new criminal project, from kidnapping to armed robbery to heroin dealing to contract killing. Set in the lush Aspromonte forest in an unnamed town inspired by the author's native Africo, the birthplace of the 'Ndrangheta, Calabria's ruthless and ubiquitous mafia, Black Souls draws on centuries of brigand lore, peasant rebellion history, mountain mythology, and colonial suffering to offer a gripping morality tale about how violence begets violence. The novel tells the cultural history of a disaffected people who have taken destructive paths into organized crime as a means of exploiting a system that has exploited them for hundreds of years"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2019 March #2
    *Starred Review* In the hills of Calabria, three boys (Luciano, Luigi, and our anonymous storyteller) begin a journey into organized crime that will lead them to heady power before a fitting if tragic fall. In the 1970s, marginalized from educational and job opportunities, Calabria's shepherding families develop a dark criminal partnership with the Ndrangheta Mob, hiding criminal fugitives and kidnap victims on their remote farms. Raised among Ndrangheta secrets, the three boys naturally begin plotting their own entry into the criminal world. Within a few short years, they've pulled off the robbery of a well-connected brothel owner, which seeds another ambitious venture: establishing Italy's first heroin pipeline. Fueled by the narrator's charismatic leadership, guided by Luciano's genius, and protected by Luigi and their new brother Sasa's bravery, they ride the heroin wave to unimaginable wealth, pivoting easily toward cocaine when heroin loses appeal. But, when a newly energized law-enforcement regime prompts the brothers to plan their underworld exit, they find themselves hunted by a vengeful former partner. Criaco's debut novel (published in Italy in 2008) is equally successful as gritty gangland chronicle, tribute to the bonds of brotherhood, and full-sensory ode to his beloved Calabrian mountains. Criaco's incisive social commentary and unflinching realism will appeal to fans of Scandinavian and American crime fiction, but his confidential, folkloric voice sets this story apart. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Gioacchino Criaco was born in Africo, a small town on the Ionian coast of Calabria. The son of shepherds, he graduated from University of Bologna with a degree in law and practiced as a lawyer in Milan until 2008, when his debut novel, Anime Nere (Black Souls), was published to great international acclaim.

Subject: FICTION / Crime.
Friendship > Fiction.
Organized crime > Italy > Fiction.
Detective and mystery stories.
Italy > Fiction.
Detective and mystery stories.
Genre: Thrillers (Fiction)
Detective and mystery fiction.
Novels.

Additional Resources