Catalog

The catalog was upgraded on Sunday October 20th, 2019. Please report problems to your library.

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 0 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 0 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

1 current hold with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Moorhead Public Library KAN (Text) 33500013077029 New Checked out 10/29/2019
Moorhead Public Library KAN (Text) 33500013080007 New On holds shelf -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781643851105
  • ISBN: 1643851101
  • Physical Description: 298 pages ; 25 cm
  • Edition: First North American edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Crooked Lane, 2019.

Content descriptions

General Note:
"Originally published in Great Britain by HQ, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd., June 2018"--Title page verso.
Summary, etc.:
"A recent transplant from sunny California, life in the London suburbs is not what Taylor Watson expected. Far from the West End shops and city lights she imagined, she finds herself pregnant and lonely, with a husband frequently away on business and only social media to keep her company. It's only after Taylor joins a book club and a walking group, that she finally starts to make some real-life friends. Before long, Taylor's hanging out with Anna, Sarah, Simon, and Caroline but, as her pregnancy progresses and her friendships blossom, a sense of unease develops. Nothing's ever quite as it seems on the surface, and it soon becomes clear that Taylor's new friends have secrets. One appears to be after Taylor's husband, another's always putting her down, and then there's the question of Simon. Could he have feelings for Taylor? But far more worryingly, one of the group's not being too careful what they post on social media--and another is watching all too closely. Who's stalking who ... and why?"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2019 May #1
    Taylor Watson is pregnant and in need of friends. She and her husband, Jake, moved back to his hometown in the London suburbs in an attempt to repair their marriage, which was damaged by his infidelity. While Jake works long hours, Taylor relies on social media for connection, obsessively Instagramming and Tweeting in an effort to present a happy face to her friends back in America. But when she joins a local walking group, things begin to look up. She meets Simon, a kind loner, and Anna, a fellow newbie who is also pregnant. Taylor vets Anna on social media, then decides they need to be friends. Between chapters of Taylor's attempts to settle in are letters, clearly sent from a stalker with dangerous intentions. Kantaria weaves in so much suspicious behavior—Simon's hacking abilities, Anna's long-distance husband, even Taylor's adeptness at internet stalking—that it's hard to tell who is the victim, much less the villain. This fascinating, compulsively readable domestic suspense will absolutely appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and B. A. Paris. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Annabel Kantaria is a British author and journalist who has edited and contributed to women’s magazines and publications in Britain and across the Middle East. In 2013 she won the Montegrappa Prize for First Fiction at the Emirates Airline Festival of Literature. The winning manuscript was published as “Coming Home” in 2015 and she’s gone on to write three more novels in the “domestic noir” genre: The Disappearance, The One That Got Away and I Know You. Annabel lives in Dubai with her husband, two children and a little Tonkinese rescue cat.

Annabel Kantaria is a British author and journalist who has edited and contributed to women&;s magazines and publications in Britain and across the Middle East. In 2013 she won the Montegrappa Prize for First Fiction at the Emirates Airline Festival of Literature. The winning manuscript was published as &;Coming Home&; in 2015 and she&;s gone on to write three more novels in the &;domestic noir&; genre: The Disappearance, The One That Got Away and I Know You. Annabel lives in Dubai with her husband, two children and a little Tonkinese rescue cat.

Subject: Stalkers > Fiction.
Online social networks > Fiction.
Pregnant women > Fiction.
Friendship > Fiction.
Americans > England > Fiction.
London (England) > Fiction.
Genre: Thrillers (Fiction)
Psychological fiction.

Additional Resources