Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



That's what frenemies are for / Sophie Littlefield and Lauren Gershell.

Littlefield, Sophie, author. (Author). Gershell, Lauren, author. (Added Author).
Image of item

Available copies

  • 0 of 3 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 0 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

4 current holds with 3 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Breckenridge Public Library LIT (Text) 33500013103767 New On holds shelf -
Hawley Public Library LIT (Text) 33500013103775 New On holds shelf -
Warroad Public Library LIT (Text) 35500006201261 New Checked out 09/06/2019

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781984817969
  • ISBN: 1984817965
  • Physical Description: 309 pages ; 25 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books, [2019]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "A Manhattan socialite turns her spin instructor into a fitness superstar to impress her friends. But can she keep her little project under control? Or has she created a monster? Julia Summers seems to have it all: a Fifth Avenue apartment, a successful husband, and two adorable children attending the best private school in the city. She relishes wielding influence over her well-heeled girlfriends. but her star appears to be fading. That's why, when stranded in Manhattan for the summer as the entire Upper East Side flees to the Hamptons, Julia is on the hunt for the next big thing--the hot new fad that will put her back on top. Enter Flame, the next elite fitness craze. Seductive and transformative, Flame is exactly what Julia needs--and demure, naïve instructor Tatum is her ticket in. Turning Tatum from giggly blonde to trendy guru proves hard work. Yet Julia's triumphant comeback at summer's end doesn't quite go as planned, and when things suddenly get ugly, she realizes she's in way over her head. And Tatum begins to grasp just how much power her newfound stardom holds. Then, with Julia's life already spiraling out of control, her husband is arrested for fraud and bribery. As her so-called friends turn their backs on her, and Tatum pursues her own agenda, Julia is forced to rethink everything she knew about her world to reclaim her perfect life. But does she even want it back? Hilarious and incisive, Sophie Littlefield and Lauren Gershell's That's What Frenemies Are For provides an engrossing glimpse into the cutthroat moms' club of the Upper East Side"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2019 July #1
    *Starred Review* Julia has everything a New York mom could want—an Upper East Side apartment, a devoted husband, friends, and social capital—but she knows she has started to let things slide. She used to be the one who discovered the next big up-and-coming thing, and it's been a while since her last find. She is looking forward to a summer in the Hamptons to shore up her status, but a disaster leaves her vacation home unlivable. Stuck in the city for the summer, she decides to go looking for a project to get herself back on top of the mommy hierarchy and finds Tatum. Julia vows to turn this spin instructor into the next hot fitness guru and impress everyone by summer's end. But Tatum is not as easily managed as Julia might have hoped, and she might actually be a little bit devious. Everything is going wrong, but it will take a true crisis to show Julia who her real friends are. Unputdownable. Littlefield and Gershell write together seamlessly in this dishy summer read perfect for fans of Lauren Weisberger. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Sophie Littlefield is the author of more than twenty bestselling adult and YA novels. She is the recipient of an Anthony Award and an RT Book Reviews Reviewers’ Choice Award, and she has been shortlisted for Edgar, Macavity, Barry, and Crimespree awards. The New York Times has called her “a regular writing machine.”

Lauren Gershell was born and raised on the Upper East Side of Manhattan, where she now lives with her family. She holds a B.A. and law degree from Columbia University. That's What Frenemies Are For is her first novel.

Subject: New York (N.Y.) > Social life and customs > Fiction.
FICTION / Contemporary Women.
FICTION / Humorous.
Genre: Humorous fiction.
Novels.
Humorous fiction.
Novels.
Humorous fiction.

Additional Resources