Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 1 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 0 of 1 copy available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Moorhead Public Library DAV (Text) 33500013157516 New Checked out 12/06/2019
Red Lake Falls Public Library DAV (Text) 35500006187205 Main Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780143133933
  • ISBN: 0143133934
  • Physical Description: 211 pages ; 20 cm
  • Publisher: New York : Penguin Books, 2019.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"A short, irresistible, and bittersweet coming-of-age story in the vein of Stranger Things and Stand by Me about a group of misfit kids who spend an unforgettable summer investigating local ghost stories and urban legends"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2019 June #1
    Toronto brain surgeon and father Jake Baker looks back on the 1980s; specifically his twelfth summer, when he—often bullied, spacey and bookish, scared of every little thing—learned what sorts of monsters were worth fearing. Hanging out in his dear uncle Calvin's paranomal-oddities shop, the Occultorium, he meets Billy Yellowbird, who's new to Niagara Falls, dissatisfied with the plans for his beloved grandmother's upcoming burial, and longing to speak with her. Uncle C suggests they break into the funeral home to visit her body, thereby calling to order the first meeting of the Saturday Night Ghost Club. Joined by Billy's older sister, Dove, and video-store owner Lex, they visit spooky places of local lore, but it all leads to a mystery much closer to home. Davidson (Cataract City, 2014), who often writes about friendship, fighting, and Niagara Falls, rifles through the freneticism of growing up with well-timed humor, meaningful drama, and genuine characters. Investigating the uncanny goings-on of youth through the nostalgic film of adulthood, this is a little bit Wonder Years meets Stranger Things. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Craig Davidson has published four previous books of literary fiction: Rust and Bone, which was made into a Golden Globe-nominated feature film, The Fighter, Sarah Court, and the Scotiabank Giller Prize-nominated Cataract City. Davidson is a graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop, and his articles and journalism have been published in Esquire, GQ, and The Washington Post, among other places. He lives in Toronto, Canada, with his partner and their child. He also publishes bestselling horror fiction under the pseudonym Nick Cutter.

Subject: Uncles > Fiction.
Paranormal fiction.
Parapsychology > Societies and clubs > Fiction.
Children > Societies and clubs > Fiction.
Niagara Falls (Ont.) > Fiction.
FICTION / Coming of Age.
FICTION / Ghost.
Genre: Bildungsromans.
Ghost stories.
Bildungsromans.
Paranormal fiction.

Additional Resources