Record Details

Catalog Search

The peppermint tea chronicles. #13 / Alexander McCall Smith ; illustrations by Iain McIntosh.

McCall Smith, Alexander, 1948- (author.). McIntosh, Iain, (illustrator.).

Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Breckenridge Public Library MCC (Text) 33500013169610 New Available -
Fosston Public Library MCC (Text) 33500013169628 New Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781984897817
  • ISBN: 1984897810
  • Physical Description: 310 pages ; 21 cm
  • Publisher: New York : Anchor Books, a division of Penguin Random House LLC, 2019.

Content descriptions

General Note:
"This book is excerpted from a series that originally appeared in The Scotsman newspaper."--title page verso.
Summary, etc.:
Summer has come to Scotland Street. The long days have prompted its denizens to engage in flights of fancy. Some, like the Duke of Johannesburg's plan to create a microlite seaplane, are literal flights, and some, like the vain Bruce Anderson's idea of settling down with one of his many admirers, are more metaphorical. With the domineering Irene off pursuing academic challenges, Stuart and Bertie are free to indulge in summer fun. Stuart reconnects with an old acquaintance over refreshing peppermint tea while Bertie takes his friend Ranald Braveheart Macpherson to the circus. But their trip to the big top becomes rather more than the pleasant diversion they were hoping for. Once again, Scotland Street teems with the daily triumphs and challenges of those who call it home, and provides a warm, wise, and witty chronicle of the affairs in this corner of the world.-- Publisher's description.

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2019 November #1
    *Starred Review* The 44 Scotland Street series is something of a high-wire act, a cross between soap opera and serialized novel. It began in 2004 when McCall Smith introduced, in sketches in the The Scotsman newspaper, a handful of characters living in an upper-middle-class apartment building in Edinburgh. The action has proceeded at a reflection-filled, leisurely pace but with sudden lurches, advances, and reversals. Almost from the outset, a little boy, Bertie, now seven, the victim of a mother who sees him more as a project than a child, has been the beating heart of the series. In this thirteenth installment, Bertie has been largely freed from his domineering mother, a development that readers who have seen the evil influence of that mother will welcome. New readers, though, may be confused by the way some plot threads are woven and then all but abandoned. And even with the breakneck pace of serialization, there should have been some extra proofing to catch errors (like identifying the Slough of Despond as appearing in Dante, rather than Bunyan). Still, especially for continuing readers, a new Scotland Street will always be a cause for rejoicing. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

ALEXANDER McCALL SMITH is the author of the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency novels and a number of other series and stand-alone books. His works have been translated into more than forty languages and have been bestsellers throughout the world. He lives in Scotland.

Subject: Edinburgh (Scotland) > Social life and customs > Fiction.
Apartment houses > Scotland > Edinburgh > Fiction.
Genre: Humorous fiction.
Humorous fiction.

Additional Resources