Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 1 of 3 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

1 current hold with 3 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Climax Public Library BLA (Text) 33500013166012 New Available -
Fertile Public Library BLA (Text) 33500013166020 New Checked out 12/26/2019
Roseau Public Library BLA (Text) 35500006249955 New Checked out 12/26/2019

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781250199911
  • ISBN: 1250199913
  • Physical Description: pages cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : St. Martin's Press, 2019.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"Critically acclaimed author Saul Black returns with a heart-racing thriller in which a brutal murder forces one woman to reckon with her own past-and her future. On a hot summer night, a watchful neighbor locks eyes with an intruder and unwittingly alerts the police to a vicious crime scene next door: a lavish master bedroom where a man lies dead. Next to him, his wife is bleeding out onto the hardwood floor, clinging to life. The victim, Adam Grant, was a well-known San Francisco prosecutor-a man whose connection to Homicide detective Valerie Hart brings her face-to-face with a life she's long since left behind. Adam's career made him an easy target, and forensic evidence points towards an ex-con he put behind bars years ago. But while Adam's wife and daughter grapple with their tragic loss, Valerie uncovers devastating clues that point in a more ominous direction. Lurking in the shadows of the Grants' pristine life is a mysterious blonde who holds the key to a very different-and much darker-story. As Valerie struggles to forge a new path for herself, the investigation forces her to confront the question: can we ever really leave our pasts behind? Sophisticated and stunning, Anything for You is an unforgettable thriller that will grip readers long after turning the last page"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2019 September #2
    After tracking serial killers in The Killing Lessons (2015) and LoveMurder (2017), self-sabotaging SFPD detective Valerie Hart reveals gut-wrenching complications in what should be an open-and-shut investigation. Rachel Grant claims that she and her husband, Adam, were attacked by a stranger as they slept. Adam was killed, but Rachel survived. The murder weapons are covered with the fingerprints of Dwight Jenner, a felon whom Adam prosecuted in his former role as an ADA attorney; finding Jenner seems to be the only hurdle to closing the case. Jenner's friends report that he's left town with his new girlfriend, Sophia, and Hart tracks down CCTV footage showing Jenner and a beautiful blonde woman. When Valerie finds provocative photos of the same woman locked in Adam's desk, the investigation pivots toward uncovering Sophia's connection to the murder. Sophia speaks for herself in a parallel narrative, moving backward from her escape from childhood sexual abuse toward her final retribution. Valerie unflinchingly taps into her own weaknesses as a way to gain insight into her quarry; this angle, along with the skilled story crafting, will appeal to fans of Carol O'Connell and Chelsea Cain. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

SAUL BLACK is the author of The Killing Lessons and LoveMurder. He lives in London.

Subject: Women detectives > Fiction.
Women > Violence against > Fiction.
Children of murder victims > Fiction.
Psychopaths > Fiction.
San Francisco (Calif.) > Fiction.
Children of murder victims.
Psychopaths.
Women detectives.
Women > Violence against.
California > San Francisco.
Genre: Fiction.

Additional Resources