Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 0 of 3 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 0 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

1 current hold with 3 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Ada Public Library M JAM (Text) 33500013165816 New Checked out 12/26/2019
Bagley Public Library M JAM (Text) 33500013165808 New Checked out 12/21/2019
Hallock Public Library JAM (Text) 35500006250045 New Checked out 12/18/2019

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781643852317
  • ISBN: 1643852310
  • Physical Description: 327 pages ; 25 cm.
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Crooked Lane Books, 2019.

Content descriptions

General Note:
Series numeration from www.goodreads.com.
Summary, etc.:
An explosive debut mystery for readers of Christine Carbo and Paul Doiron featuring a newly minted deputy thrust into the cutthroat world of hunting. This waterfowl season, the hunters become the hunted. Newly promoted sheriff's deputy Delia Chavez has worked hard to get where she is. Without any family to speak of, law enforcement is all she has. But just a few days into her new job, Delia finds the body of a hunter washed up on the bank of the Willamette River missing his trigger finger. Soon, more bodies are found--all hunters without their trigger fingers. Waterfowl season often means clashes between hunters and animal rights activists, but could someone be killing to make a statement? Petrified, but invigorated by the opportunity, Delia dives head first into the case. Soon, she catches a whiff of something foul and it's not the dead bodies--man or bird. What starts off looking like a simple case of a ruthless vigilante quickly devolves into something much more complex. Facing evasive killers who stop at nothing to conceal their crimes, Delia must bring the criminals to justice because everyone knows, if you're not the predator, you're prey.
Author Notes

J. S. James lives near Portland, Oregon with his family, including their "Velcro" Vizsla and furry red exercise machine, Maggie. He completed a popular fiction writing program in Washington, but grew up fishing and hunting in Oregon. River Run won first place in the Pacific Northwest Writer's Association's mystery/thriller contest, and was runner-up and "highly commended" in the Crime Writer's Association's Debut Dagger contest. This is J. S. James's first novel. Currently, he's hard at work on more novels in the genre.

Subject: Murder > Investigation > Fiction.
Ducks > Oregon > Fiction.
Hunters > Fiction.
Animal rights activists > Fiction.
Policewomen > Fiction.
Mexican American women > Fiction.
Homicide > Fiction.
Murderers > Fiction.
Hunters > Fiction.
Willamette River Valley (Or.) > Fiction.
Genre: Detective and mystery fiction.
Novels.

Additional Resources