Catalog

We are carefully monitoring information about the coronavirus (COVID-19) and in effort to protect staff, customers and our communities, all locations will close for an undefined duration beginning Tuesday, March 17. We will not be charging fines during this period; please keep your materials at home until we reopen. For more information visit larl.org.

Record Details

Catalog Search



A catered New Year's Eve [electronic resource]. Isis Crawford.

Crawford, Isis. (Author).

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781496715012 (electronic bk)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
Sisters Bernie and Libby Simmons are reunited with a distant relative who wants them to cater a New Year's Eve event—and help find a guilty party . . . It's been years since Bernie and Libby's parents became estranged from Ada Sinclair's side of the family—though the reasons for the rift are lost to history. The sisters, however, are intrigued when Ada makes contact. She tells them about the long-ago deaths of her father and his business partner, which happened within hours of each other—and were both ruled accidental. Ada thinks otherwise—and has a plan. On New Year's Eve, she'll gather a group of guests and read from a diary she's found in her mother's attic that she thinks will expose the culprit. The Simmons sisters agree to provide refreshments for the bash, and when the night arrives, Ada's ready to count down to a confession. But as midnight approaches, a guest drops dead. It looks like the menu tonight includes champagne and cyanide . . . In the tumult, the diary disappears. When Ada is arrested for murder, she'll have to hope that Bernie and Libby can provide a resolution before the clock runs out. Includes Original Recipes for You to Try!
Reproduction Note:
Electronic reproduction. LaVergne : Kensington Books, 2019. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 918 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB).
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2019 September #2
    Ada Sinclair's request to Bernie and Libby Simmons, proprietors of A Little Taste of Heaven café, to cater her family's New Year's Eve dinner takes the sisters by surprise: she introduces herself as a cousin they didn't know. Their father warns them about becoming involved, as even his deceased wife, normally tolerant, had cut off contact with the Sinclair branch of her family years before; he asserts that there will be trouble. Bernie and Libby should have listened. Despite bitter cold and a raging blizzard, the evening goes as planned—until the guests open the Christmas poppers, and one guest falls dead, poisoned. Ada goes into hiding, and a few days later her uncle is killed in a hit-and-run. Bernie and Libby try to find Ada, believing her innocent, following leads across an icy and cold Westchester County. Fast paced and lively as the sisters shoehorn their investigation into busy days at the café, alternately bickering and collaborating on both fronts, this mystery with recipes will appeal to fans of Joanne Fluke and Laura Childs. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

ISIS CRAWFORD was born in Egypt to parents who were in the diplomatic corps. When she was five, her family returned to the States, where her mother opened a restaurant in Upper Westchester County and her father became a university professor. Since then Isis has combined her parents’ love of food and travel by running a catering service as well as penning numerous travel-related articles about places ranging from Omsk to Paraguay. Married, with twin boys, she presently resides in Hastings-on-Hudson, New York, where she is working on the next Bernie and Libby culinary mystery.

Subject: Fiction.
Mystery.
Genre: Electronic books.

Additional Resources