Catalog

We are carefully monitoring information about the coronavirus (COVID-19) and in effort to protect staff, customers and our communities, all locations will close for an undefined duration beginning Tuesday, March 17. We will not be charging fines during this period; please keep your materials at home until we reopen. For more information visit larl.org.

Record Details

Catalog Search



A study in murder [electronic resource] / Callie Hutton.

Hutton, Callie. (Author).

Electronic resources

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781643853239 (electronic bk)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
A mystery author is charged with murder—and the plot thickens faster than anyone can turn the pages—in USA Today bestselling author Callie Hutton's new series debut, perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen and Ellery Adams. Bath, England, 1890. Mystery author Lady Amy Lovell receives an anonymous letter containing shocking news: her fiancé, Mr. Ronald St. Vincent, has been dabbling in something illegal, which causes her to promptly break their engagement. Two evenings later, as Lady Amy awaits a visit from Lord William Wethington, fellow member of the Bath Mystery Book Club, her former fiancé makes an unexpected and most unwelcome appearance at her house. She promptly sends him to the library to cool his heels but later discovers the room seemingly empty—until she stumbles upon a dead Mr. St. Vincent with a knife in his chest. Lord Wethington arrives to find Lady Amy screaming and sends for the police, but the Bobbies immediately assume that she is the killer. Desperate to clear her name, Lady Amy and Lord Wethington launch their own investigation—and stir up a hornet's nest of suspects, from the gardener who served time in prison for murder to a vengeful woman who was spurned by St. Vincent before he proposed to Lady Amy. Can they close the book on the case before the real killer gets away with murder?
Reproduction Note:
Electronic reproduction. New York : CROOKED LANE BOOKS, 2020. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 1349 KB) or Kobo app or compatible Kobo device (file size: N/A KB).
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2020 April #2
    Mystery enthusiast and daughter of privilege Lady Amy Lovell abruptly breaks her engagement upon receiving shocking news about her intended. Shortly thereafter, the scoundrel is murdered in her home, and she's the prime suspect. Lady Amy is joined in the effort to clear her name by Lord William Wethington, a fellow member of the Bath Mystery Book Club. This series debut is sadly more a study in missed opportunities. Marred by flat characters and awkward dialogue, the running joke of Lady Amy correcting everyone on the dead man's status as her ex-fiancé stops being clever by the dozenth time, the late Victorian setting is perfunctory and beyond labored references to Holmes, and not much is made of the book-club framing device. Attempts at a romance and a cliff-hanger ending do little to heighten anticipation for the next title. For cozy completists only. Those seeking out literary-themed historical mysteries would be far better served by Bella Ellis' atmospheric and well-researched The Vanished Bride (2019) or Stephanie Barron's long-running Jane Austen series. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

USA Today bestselling author Callie Hutton has penned more than thirty-five historical romance books, and writes humorous and spicy Regency with "historic elements and sensory details" (The Romance Reviews). Callie lives in Oklahoma with two rescue dogs and her top cheerleader husband of many years. Her family also includes her daughter, son, and daughter-in-law. And her four year old twin grandsons "The Twinadoes."

Subject: Fiction.
Historical Fiction.
Mystery.
Genre: Electronic books.

Additional Resources