Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 1 of 2 copies available at LARL/NWRL Consortium.
  • 1 of 2 copies available at Lake Agassiz Regional Library. (Show preferred library)

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Detroit Lakes Public Library COO (Text) 33500013285341 New Available -
Moorhead Public Library COO (Text) 33500013285358 New Checked out 10/14/2020

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780593133316
  • ISBN: 0593133315
  • Physical Description: xxiv, 382 pages ; 25 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Random House, [2020]

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note:
Includes bibliographical references (pages 381-382).
Summary, etc.:
"Florida, circa 1980. Reed Crowe, the eponymous Florida Man, is a middle-aged beach bum, beleaguered and disenfranchised, living on ill-gotten gains deep in the jungly heart of Florida. When sinkholes start opening on Emerald Island, not only are Reed Crowe's seedy businesses--a moribund motel and shabby amusement park--endangered but so are his secrets. Crowe, amateur spelunker, begins uncovering artifacts that change his understanding of the island's history, as well as his understanding of his family's birthright as pioneering homesteaders. As this unfolds, Crowe has to contend with Hector 'Catface' Morales, a Cuban refugee, trained assassin, and crack-addicted Marielito, seeking revenge on Reed for stealing his stash of drugs and leaving him for dead (unbeknownst to Reed) in the wreckage of a plane crash in the Everglades decades ago. Meanwhile, there are other Florida men with whom Crowe must contend ... There are curses. There are sea monsters. There are biblical storms. There's something called the Jupiter Effect. Ultimately, Florida Man is a generation-spanning story about how a man decides to live his life, and how despite staying landlocked and stubbornly in one place, the world nevertheless comes to him"-- Provided by publisher.
Reviews

  • Booklist Reviews : Booklist Reviews 2020 August #1
    As a teen in the late 1960s, Reed Crowe witnessed a small plane crash near Emerald Island, Florida. He thought there were no survivors, and grabbed a bundle of marijuana floating in the water. Almost 20 years later, Crowe owns the roadside attraction Florida Man Mystery House, and the rundown Emerald Island Inn, and he was wrong, there was a survivor, and he is now hell-bent on revenge. As Cooper's (The Marauders, 2015) thoughtfully crafted, wildly overblown, fully engaging tale progresses, the gritty and graphic violence that comes from dirty deals and drug crimes is balanced with small details that connect all the story lines and portrayals of diverse characters who reveal imperfections that make them truly human. Cooper also addresses how Florida was settled and how tourism had come to define its culture. With a strong setting in time and place, dark humor, and tension between themes worthy of contemplation and hard-hitting action, Cooper's high-energy tale of mayhem will appeal to fans of Quentin Tarantino, Carl Hiaasen, or Tim Dorsey. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Author Notes

Tom Cooper has been published in dozens of literary magazines and journals, most recently in Oxford American, Mid-American Review, Gulf Coast, Boulevard, and Willow Springs. He is the author of The Marauders, his first novel, and his stories have been nominated four times for the Pushcart Prize. He lives in New Orleans.

Subject: Middle-aged men > Fiction.
Islands > Fiction.
Antiquities > Fiction.
Assassins > Fiction.
Revenge > Fiction.
Florida > Fiction.
FICTION / Crime.
FICTION / Humorous / Black Humor.
FICTION / Southern.
Revenge.
Middle-aged men.
Islands.
Assassins.
Antiquities.
Florida.
Genre: Thrillers (Fiction)
Magic realist fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Magic realist fiction.
Fiction.
Suspense fiction.

Additional Resources